PDA

View Full Version : New Tripod - I ask your advices

gianx80
10-08-2011, 02:56 AM
Hi my friends :). As some of you already know, I purchased in August my new FS100. I'm a newbie in the video making field, but I'm learning fast thanks to all your precious advices.
I'd love to buy a new tripod (the one that I already have is too weak for the new cam). I don't have a big budget (I mean, I could also spend 600 bucks for a tripod, but I'd love to save my money ... the camera itself was already so expensive). So I'm here to ask: which is the best tripod for my FS100 with the best quality-price ratio?

Someone suggested to me the Manfrotto 701HDV head with the Manfrotto 547BK tripod

Someone else suggested the Benro HK25 tripod or an E-Image one

so, which are your toughts?

MattDavis
10-08-2011, 04:29 AM
The Sachtler Ace seemed to get good report and is designed for this class of camera. If I were in the market for one, I'd want to check the Ace out.

Tripods don't tend to go out of date in a couple of years, unlike cameras. :)

jetswing
10-08-2011, 06:29 AM
Another vote for Sachtler Ace

gianx80
10-08-2011, 07:36 AM
That seems a nice tripod ... but I see it will be released in USA in November. Do you know any European release date and reseller? I know, I can buy from USA but I have to buy some extra tax

MattDavis
10-08-2011, 07:39 AM
Do you know any European release date and reseller?

No need to fret over US prices. Sachtler is part of a huge cartel including Vinten, Manfrotto etc. It's European:

http://bit.ly/rlqsWT

gianx80
10-08-2011, 07:46 AM
That's good to hear. I looked on proav and adcom ... proav doesn't have Sachtler products and adcom doesn't have the Ace model.
Any suggestions about dealers?

And, any suggestions on other tripods?

gianx80
11-05-2011, 07:45 AM
So, last confirmation before buy it ... at the moment the Sachtler Ace is the best tripod for my FS100 in its price range?

EDIT

So, which is the difference between