PDA

View Full Version : Need Broadcast quality shot gun mic for documentary work

jzw
05-08-2005, 03:16 PM
I am currently a student at film school where I have been borrowing their mics weekly to do my own work using the Sennheiser ME 80 Hypercardiod Mic Capsule with the Sennheiser K3U Power Module. Now that I am graduating I need to invest in somthing good. Any suggestions on a make, model, and best place to purchase this microphone? I am not looking for something decent, I want something that sounds fantastic and I am willing to spend as much as $500.
People have recommended the AT 407a and AT 897 ENG, but I want to hear other peoples opinions.
Any responses will be appreciated.
Cheers,
Joshua

Duct Tape Films
05-08-2005, 04:55 PM
I am currently a student at film school where I have been borrowing their mics weekly to do my own work using the Sennheiser ME 80 Hypercardiod Mic Capsule with the Sennheiser K3U Power Module. Now that I am graduating I need to invest in somthing good. Any suggestions on a make, model, and best place to purchase this microphone? I am not looking for something decent, I want something that sounds fantastic and I am willing to spend as much as $500.
People have recommended the AT 407a and AT 897 ENG, but I want to hear other peoples opinions.
Any responses will be appreciated.
Cheers,
Joshua

Depends on what you are doing. Are you looking to BE an soundman? The stuff I own is the stuff I use when I don't have soundman present, and I have to cover it as a one man band. In most of those situations, it's a "you get what you can get" kind of situation, run & gun. I use mostly A/T wired or wireless lavs, and an Azden SGM-1X shotgun, not because they sound great, but because they're more or less abusable and/or replaceable. So the question again is, what is your planned use?

thisiswells
05-08-2005, 06:33 PM
His plan is cross posting the same message across multiple boards.
See more responses here: