PDA

View Full Version : Footage splitted into 2GB pieces



Eimulis
08-26-2011, 06:53 AM
I've shot a opera with fs100 yesterday, it was lasting for a hour. I shot into a SDHC card.
Camera made me 5 1.97GB files instead of one, and there are gaps in sound.
Is it normal?
Is it possible to get one file? maybe with SDXC?

Dermot
08-26-2011, 07:07 AM
i use "clipwrap" to create a joined .h264 automaticaly

Eimulis
08-26-2011, 07:40 AM
so no posibility to get one file? how about sound gaps?

Dermot
08-26-2011, 07:56 AM
It works, Clipwrap (Mac only) makes one file -no issues with the sound..... all there, all complete.. full length

Sony also bundles a utlity ( windoze32 only tho) to do this as well

and Vegas (that also came bundled with the camera ) does this too

very many possibalities to explore

gomber
08-26-2011, 11:53 AM
i was recording with 2 fs 100 yesterday. I started both in the same time and for some reason at 12 minutes both of them closed the files and one of them lost 2 the other one lost 3 frames at the same time. did any of you guys have the same experience? is there any way to avoid anything like that in the future? I used SD cards. Is it better to use the sony SSD for heavy duty ? I am about to use it for daily tv program and it is scary to know i can only shot 12 minutes with them.

Dermot
08-26-2011, 11:59 AM
I have shot 2+ hours in a go many times with my FS, (we are doing interviews that can go on for a while)... so far no issues what so ever, with 100+ hours in the can already.

I'm using class 10 SDHC cards - Lexar Platinum II 32 gig cards

nomad-3
08-27-2011, 03:11 AM
Premiere Pro CS 5.5 is joining the files without a problem.

moldcad
08-27-2011, 08:52 AM
Premiere Pro CS 5.5 is joining the files without a problem.

So does Vegas Pro 10 (using the Device Explorer).

Didn't try with the Content Management Utility, as it's a bit cumbersome... I mean it's nice it can create all the card structure when copying to disk (all the metadata preserved), but can anyone tell me why re-wrap mts to m2ts?

Oh, and how do you prevent the utility from launching when a card is inserted, or camera connected? Or for that matter, some other external device with no relation to FS100 files?!!!