PDA

View Full Version : is the Nano Flash working fully with the Fs-100 yet?



vcfilms
08-22-2011, 08:06 AM
Hey All, I was just wondering if the Nano was fully working with the FS-100 yet (30p and 24p)? and does it get triggered by TC yet? Thinking about moving from my af-100 but this is a big deal for me, I need my Nano to work with it, or I may have to get a new recorder which I dont want to have to do. Any info would be appreciated.

cuervo
08-22-2011, 09:37 AM
The Nano has always worked in 30p and 24p with the FS100. You send 1080i or 720p out of the FS100, and remove pull down on the Nano. For 30p you have to set PsF mode. The Nano will never work with 1080p60. The TC update has not yet been issued by C-D.


Hey All, I was just wondering if the Nano was fully working with the FS-100 yet (30p and 24p)? and does it get triggered by TC yet? Thinking about moving from my af-100 but this is a big deal for me, I need my Nano to work with it, or I may have to get a new recorder which I dont want to have to do. Any info would be appreciated.

vcfilms
08-22-2011, 09:49 AM
Ok, I thought I saw somewhere that it wasn't. Thats great, I know it'll never work in 60p so no worries there. I hope they fix that TC trigger. Kind of a big deal.

simonpwood
08-22-2011, 10:04 AM
Is the FS100 a big step up from the AF100 though? I mean you'll be losing ND filters and SDI (HDMI is a pain).

Barry_Green
08-22-2011, 10:16 AM
Is the FS100 a big step up from the AF100 though? I mean you'll be losing ND filters and SDI (HDMI is a pain).
I've been evaluating them, and I would classify each of them as a step sideways. You gain some with one, that you lose with the other. The primary things the FS100 does over the AF100 are that it has cleaner gain in higher ISOs, and it has a slightly wider field of view (a 35mm on the FS100 matches a 28mm on the AF100). The AF100 has about 50+ things it does that the FS100 doesn't; the FS100 has about 20 things it does that the AF100 doesn't. I'll have a more comprehensive writeup coming in the future. But in general it really depends on what you intend to use the camera for, and (IMO) what you're coming from (i.e., whether you're used to working with a pro video camera, or with a DSLR).

mico
08-22-2011, 11:44 AM
The Nano has always worked in 30p and 24p with the FS100. You send 1080i or 720p out of the FS100, and remove pull down on the Nano. For 30p you have to set PsF mode. The Nano will never work with 1080p60. The TC update has not yet been issued by C-D.

I don't know if its the way you wrote it in a way thats not clear to me, but the nano does remove pull down of fs100 footage automatically right?

cuervo
08-22-2011, 12:42 PM
I don't know if its the way you wrote it in a way thats not clear to me, but the nano does remove pull down of fs100 footage automatically right?
yep!:happy: