PDA

View Full Version : Portable Gear for Documentary

docz_gal
05-01-2005, 05:47 PM
Hi all, I'm a newbie about to shoot a no-budget documentary w/ the DVX100A, ideally in 24pa, at various locations in Latin America & Europe, and it's a 1 "woman" crew (me, myself & I!) :laugh: . I've been checking the boards but haven't seen this specific question asked/answered -- forgive me if I'm wrong! :shocked: -- but I'd like your advice on the absolute bare minimum equipment I can get away with & still have a professional-looking product that I can eventually transfer to film for festivals, etc.

I'll be shooting mostly in cities, both indoors & outdoors. (Certainly humidity & heat will be a concern when I'm shooting in Guatemala & Mexico). Mainly talking heads/interviews, intermixed with some action shots, etc.

I want to travel light, so I thought I'd get a lightweight tripod (Tommy at EVS recommended the Libec THM20), an on-camera light & an on-camera shotgun mic, and that's pretty much it (I already have a lav mic for sit-down interviews). Do you think I can get away with just that, esp. the light? What else should I take with me without being bogged down w/ excessive weight?

THANK YOU, ALL!!! :kiss:

thisiswells
05-01-2005, 05:49 PM
no-budget=no equipment... could you elaborate?

docz_gal
05-01-2005, 05:55 PM
Well, what I mean is, no outside funding -- so far all strictly self-funded!!! So want to spend as few $$ as possible at this point! :)

thisiswells
05-01-2005, 05:56 PM
For sound: What is the point of a shotgun mic? Ambiance? What?
For lighting: What are you trying to achieve? Just illumination? or, something beautiful?
Would you know what to do with more lights if you had them -or- could you learn quickly?
For storage: Backpack? What?

I have been on several in-the-middle-of-nowhere-by-yourself doc shoots like yours and have
really had to think hard about this kind of thing.. Would be glad to help....