PDA

View Full Version : Re: Sennheiser EW112 G3 on Input 2



ectobuilder
07-26-2011, 04:35 PM
I have the Sennheiser EW112 G3 wireless lavalier system on Input 2.

I see the volume meter active when I speak but the recorded clip nor the audio monitoring has sound, what is going on?

My setting is:
- Mic
- Input 2
- Auto

bkmvincent
07-26-2011, 04:37 PM
I have the Sennheiser EW112 G3 wireless lavalier system on Input 2.

I see the volume meter active when I speak but the recorded clip nor the audio monitoring has sound, what is going on?

My setting is:
- Mic
- Input 2
- Auto

Are you in S&Q mode?

Nevermind, it doesn't show meters in that mode...DUh!

sinapps
07-26-2011, 04:46 PM
Make sure the headphones switch is set to 2 or stereo

Duke M.
07-26-2011, 04:53 PM
There's a semi hidden mute button in the transmitter pack that people sometimes push when turning it on. (Sometimes called the Pee Break button.) Off the top of my head its one of the two buttons under the cover on the right hand side.

ectobuilder
07-26-2011, 04:57 PM
Make sure the headphones switch is set to 2 or stereo

yep stereo.

Funny thing is when i plug in the kit microphone everything works fine. But not the sennheiser ew112! And when I plug a microphone directly into the receiver of the ew112 I hear sound, something is not right.

Should mic be 48V? No right?

ectobuilder
07-26-2011, 04:59 PM
There's a semi hidden mute button in the transmitter pack that people sometimes push when turning it on. (Sometimes called the Pee Break button.) Off the top of my head its one of the two buttons under the cover on the right hand side.

Funny thing is when I plug my headphone DIRECTLY into the ew112 I do hear sound, but when I plug it into the XLR input on the NEX-FS100 I don't hear anything but the volume meter (on BOTH the NEX-FS100 and ew112) is active and responds to my voice.

Duke M.
07-26-2011, 05:05 PM
The EW112 has batteries. It doesn't need phantom power, so no 48v. I'd still test the mute button.

ectobuilder
07-26-2011, 05:24 PM
The EW112 has batteries. It doesn't need phantom power, so no 48v. I'd still test the mute button.

OK will search for the mute button, HOWEVER, when I plug my headphone into the ew112 it has sound! So do you think mute is the issue?

Kraut69
07-26-2011, 06:44 PM
Give those little mini plugs a good push into their hole, I'm surprised how I don't push them in far enough!

Kraut69
07-26-2011, 06:45 PM
I also recommend taping over the mute button, it will get accidentally pushed on at the worst times!

Kraut69
07-26-2011, 06:48 PM
The G2 will say MUTE on the receivedr whenever the mute switch on the transmitter is on, or if the transmitter is turned off (and in PILOT mode, not sure if the PILOT mode has anything to do with the MUTE note popping up)

Kraut69
07-26-2011, 06:59 PM
And there is a +/- volume dial on the top that controls volume to the headphones.

ectobuilder
07-27-2011, 01:41 AM
OK I feel like such a dumby. Just loaded the file onto my computer and the EW112 WORKS!!

What happened was that I was comparing it to the kit mic. The kit mic being 3 feet away has more echo in the feedback to my headphones so it was EASIER to verify that it was working.

HOWEVER, the EW112, having the lavalier right up against my mouth produced an almost INSTANT feedback to my headphones therefore I could not verify my own voice.

Should have used a second person 10 feet away in order to more accurately test the EW112.

So problem solved!