PDA

View Full Version : Sony FS100 and Timecode with PP CS5.5



rejdmast
07-23-2011, 08:57 PM
Does anyone know if PP CS5.5 can read the timecode from the native FS100 files?

I have PP 5.03 and it does not read the timecode. I copied my video from the camera
to my hard drive with Sony's CMU and the timecode comes over but PP doesn't see it.

stevedocmaker
07-24-2011, 10:55 AM
I recall that at some point, perhaps with 5.0, time code would get lost if you just imported directly to the project window, as opposed to opening the file first in the media browser. It reads fine for me in CS5.5, no matter how the files are imported. However, if you're like me and can't stand the stupid file naming convention in AVCHD (ending up with 1000s of files named 00000.mts in your project), and therefor rename all your files, timecode gets lost no matter how you import.

rejdmast
07-24-2011, 12:55 PM
Hi Steve,

Thanks for the reply. Even with the 5.03 media browser I don't get TC. I'll be upgrading to 5.5 in a couple of weeks so it is good to know that it will work.
If you import the FS100 footage with Sony's CMU, a .cmuprops metadata file will be generated. Perhaps if you changed the data file and the .cmuprops file the TC would stick.