PDA

View Full Version : Upcoming 4:4:4 Recorders



mandrean
07-09-2011, 09:43 AM
With the release of 4:4:4 output-capable cameras (F3 & FS100 to name two), some companies have announced upcoming 4:4:4 recorders.

The ones I know of are:

- Cinedeck Extreme (http://www.cinedeck.com/content/#/?type=serial)
- Gemini 4:4:4 (http://blog.abelcine.com/2011/03/21/convergent-designs-gemini-444-recorder/)
- Cinemartin SFV (http://cinemartin.com/ (http://nofilmschool.com/2011/03/cinemartin-release-uncompressed-444-field/))

The Cinedeck is a crazy $10K I think, while the other two are about half of that. And they all need HD-SDI for 4:4:4, which means one would need an HDMI-to-HD-SDI adaptor (like from AJA or BlackMagic) with the FS100, right?

Edit: Cinedeck Extreme accepts HDMI in.

What other upcoming 4:4:4 recorders are there out there?

Barry_Green
07-09-2011, 09:46 AM
Wouldn't work. HD-SDI can't do 4:4:4. It takes two SDI channels to carry that much data. So you'd need a new product that converts HDMI to dual-link HD-SDI or to 3G-SDI.

mandrean
07-09-2011, 09:47 AM
Wouldn't work. HD-SDI can't do 4:4:4. It takes two SDI channels to carry that much data. So you'd need a new product that converts HDMI to dual-link HD-SDI or to 3G-SDI.Like this one? http://www.gefen.com/kvm/dproduct.jsp?prod_id=9397

(http://www.gefen.com/kvm/dproduct.jsp?prod_id=9397)
Edit: According to Wikipedia, the HD-SDI bandwidth is ~1.5 Gbit/s. In this DV info interview (http://www.dvinfo.net/article/production/camgear/interview-convergent-design-unveils-gemini-444.html) Convergent Design say that uncompressed data is typically around 125-150 Mbyte/s, which is 1000-1200 Mbit/s. Wouldn't one HD-SDI be enough for the FS100's 8-bit 444?

Barry_Green
07-09-2011, 10:16 AM
SDI isn't 8-bit, it is always 10 bit. There is no space savings for 8 bit. And there is no provision for 4:4:4 in the SDI spec. It isn't just a raw data pipe like a USB cable.

Barry_Green
07-09-2011, 10:22 AM
That Gefen unit might do it. It doesn't mention 4:4:4 anywhere but if it accepts RGB input then it might work. It won't output 3GSDI at 4:4:4 though, only dual link.

mandrean
07-09-2011, 10:27 AM
SDI isn't 8-bit, it is always 10 bit. There is no space savings for 8 bit. And there is no provision for 4:4:4 in the SDI spec. It isn't just a raw data pipe like a USB cable.Sure, but still. "Uncompressed data is typically around 125-150 Mbytes/s". Isn't that within the HD-SDI specs?

Mitch Gross
07-10-2011, 12:26 AM
The CineDeck Extreme is $8500 and the Gemini is $6000. Not that huge a difference.

Postmaster
07-10-2011, 01:55 AM
Manny moons ago Cineform was planning to make a Cineform based recorder.

36558
Somehow David decided to ditch the project. Thatīs a real shame, cause it would now now (several years later)
be probably selling like hot cake.

Frank

mandrean
07-15-2011, 08:56 AM
By the way. The Matrox MXO2 LE (http://www.matrox.com/video/en/products/mac/mxo2_family/mxo2_le/) can capture 10-bit uncompressed RGB via HDMI.

Many people already have MacBook Pro's with Thunderbolt. When Matrox releases their updated MXO2 line with Thunderbolt I/O (http://www.matrox.com/video/en/press/releases/Matrox_Thunderbolt/), the MXO2 LE could serve as a "cheap" ~$1000 4:4:4 recorder (presuming you already have the computer.)

Not a great solution for ENG, but perhaps for narrative work where only the length of the HDMI cable would limit the range of camera movement.

legrevedotcom
07-15-2011, 09:15 AM
Im confused as to where Thunderbolt comes in to the picture... from what I can read its only supported by ExpressCard/34, and only the 17" has an express card slot.

Would have been nice to use it on the 15" as well.

mandrean
07-15-2011, 10:01 AM
Im confused as to where Thunderbolt comes in to the picture... from what I can read its only supported by ExpressCard/34, and only the 17" has an express card slot.

Would have been nice to use it on the 15" as well.That's exactly where Thunderbolt comes into the picture. Previously you needed an ExpressCard slot (only older 15" or newer 17") to provide fast enough I/O, but with the new Thunderbolt versions of MXO2's you get 10 Gbps I/O in all new MacBook Pro's and iMacs plus possibly in the upcoming Air as well.

legrevedotcom
07-15-2011, 10:17 AM
Ah sry... I misunderstood. I thought they were already up on the site. But that's great news, makes it very interesting.
I tried to figure out what kind of storage it uses. Is it based on SSD's or an internal drive?

cgold
07-15-2011, 11:22 AM
It has no storage, its essentially an external pcie input card. So it would depend whether your laptop had a SSD or HDD.

legrevedotcom
07-15-2011, 12:41 PM
Ok... I understand.

mandrean
07-15-2011, 09:18 PM
http://www.blackmagic-design.com/media/804596/ultrastudio3d.jpg

Here's one more. The Blackmagic UltraStudio 3D (http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/ultrastudio3d/) for $995. It has HDMI I/O and RGB 4:4:4 capturing to Prores & DPX.

It seems to be a great little thing. I'd rather get this one than an Atomos Ninja.

Some of it's features:

Supports capture and play back of 2D and dual stream stereoscopic 3D in DPX, ProRes, uncompressed YUV and RGB, DVCPRO HD and MJPEG files
Supports the following framerates in HD: 720p50, 720p59.94, 720p60, 1080PsF23.98, 1080PsF24, 1080PsF25, 1080PsF29.97, 1080PsF30, 1080p23.98, 1080p24, 1080p25, 1080p29.97, 1080p30, 1080i50, 1080i59.94, 1080i60, 1080p50, 1080p59.94, 1080p60.
Supports the following framrates in 2K: 2048 x 1556PsF24 and 2048 x 1556PsF25, 2048 x 1556p23.98, 2048 x 1556p24 and 2048 x 1556p25
Speeds up effects in Final Cut Pro and the Adobe Mercury Engine
Real time RAM preview in Adobe After Effects!
Realtime 720p and 1080p conversion to format of choice during capture
PAL & NTSC
Genlock Input
Thunderbolt- I/O for all new MacBook Pros and iMacs (and most probably upcoming MacBooks, Mac Minis, Mac Pros and MacBook Airs) and some Dells/Toshibas
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/766049-REG/Blackmagic_Design_BDLKULSR3D_UltraStudio_3D.html

legrevedotcom
07-15-2011, 09:50 PM
Lovely that black magi, would go nicely with my mbp for studio jobs :)

SergeSmArt
07-21-2011, 07:48 AM
I would prefer to have Blackmagic HyperDeck Shuttle but with 1080p50, 1080p59.94, 1080p60 and 4:4:4 color sampling ...

http://blackmagic-design.com/media/362481/hyperdeckshuttle.jpg

.. . .and .. I just wrote a letter to them ! :) -->
---------------------
From Serge to Dan May and others: about your HyperDeck Shuttle ( to: info-usa@blackmagic-design.com , info-euro@blackmagic-design.com, info@blackmagic-design.com,
info-jp@blackmagic-design.com, etc...
-------------------
Hi, Dan!!

Since I've got new Sony NEX FS-100 camcorder, which have an option of
uncompressed 10 bits, 4:4:4 video from HDMI-out, I'm looking for recorder, which
give me a chance to use this option!
Your HyperDeck Shuttle seems the BEST,
.. exept TWO very important points:

1. HD Format Support - 720p50,
720p59.94, 720p60, 1080i50, 1080i59.94, 1080i60, 1080PsF23.98, 1080PsF24,
1080PsF25, 1080PsF29.97, 1080PsF30, 1080p23.98, 1080p24, 1080p25, 1080p29.97,
1080p30.

I don't see support for native Sony FS-100 format : "PS
(28Mbps) 1920x1080 60p"
... there is no way for: 1080p50, 1080p59.94, 1080p60 ...

2. Video Sampling 4:2:2 ... is there any plan in your company to
give us 10 bit uncompressed signal with 4:4:4 color sampling ??

SAME AS YOU HAVE IN YOUR Blackmagic Design UltraStudio 3D ....
but in COMPACT HyperDeck Shuttle design !!

I'm talking NOT about "money".. ( even money is something good to have : )
) - but about comfort! :)
..and I'm sure: thousands filmmakers all aroung the globe will be
happy to have this options with "The world’s smallest uncompressed video
recorder " as it says on your website :) and pay about twice of $345 it cost now ... !! :)

I see hot discussions about it in every forum all over the internet - dpreview.com (http://dpreview.com/), cinema5d.com (http://cinema5d.com/),
dvxuser.com (http://dvxuser.com/), forum.ixbt.com (http://forum.ixbt.com/), www.v-dslr.ru (http://www.v-dslr.ru/), tomshardware.com (http://tomshardware.com/), etc...

Sincerely
Yours,

Serge
------------------------------
LOL :grin:

Postmaster
07-21-2011, 08:36 AM
I would be happy, if they would come up with a Hypeshuttle firmware update,so it can finally talk to the FS100.
In the moment I have nothing but an uncompressed door stopper.

Frank

Barry_Green
07-21-2011, 10:04 AM
Since I've got new Sony NEX FS-100 camcorder, which have an option of
uncompressed 10 bits, 4:4:4 video from HDMI-out
The FS100 doesn't have 10-bit output, it has 8-bit.

SergeSmArt
07-21-2011, 03:01 PM
The FS100 doesn't have 10-bit output, it has 8-bit.

Oh, yes.. I forgot - this is not a sensor, but file format limitation :) ...

jetswing
07-21-2011, 03:23 PM
It's a limitation of the camera (processor) or you can look at it as Sony strategically leaving it out.

SergeSmArt
07-21-2011, 04:39 PM
It's a limitation of the camera (processor) or you can look at it as Sony strategically leaving it out.

...so that turn into MARKETING POLICY :)

mandrean
07-21-2011, 05:50 PM
Apple just announced 11 and 13 inch MacBook Airs with Thunderbolt I/O, starting at $999 and $1,299 respectively.

The 11" version has a 1366x768 native screen, and the 13" one has 1440x900.

So with a Blackmagic UltraStudio 3D and a MacBook Air you get an off-camera field monitor/director's monitor + 4:4:4 recorder + I/O device combo in a pretty lightweight package for under $2,000 if you go with the 11".

Postmaster
07-22-2011, 03:01 AM
All the "lightweight" is loosing itīs charm, by the need to be tattered to an AC outlet. You gonna need a fast RAID, that you need to power. Also the Blackmagic UltraStudio 3D needs - at least a few v-mount batteries or AC. Put that all together and you also could use a small,, self contained and probably cheaper desktop coputer, that has everything in one case, instead of an octopus cluster of boxes and cables.

Frank

vishy1983
07-24-2011, 03:23 AM
Frank ,I am interested in mac book air+ BM 3d workflow,Can please suggest cheap alternative as your talking ..current project can accomdate a PC as recorder and monitor

Note:BM 3D compatible with Snow leopard..Mac Air is Lion.. Compatible ?

I didn't find any RGB 444 recorder for PC sofar

mandrean
07-26-2011, 10:48 AM
All the "lightweight" is loosing itīs charm, by the need to be tattered to an AC outlet. You gonna need a fast RAID, that you need to power. Also the Blackmagic UltraStudio 3D needs - at least a few v-mount batteries or AC. Put that all together and you also could use a small,, self contained and probably cheaper desktop coputer, that has everything in one case, instead of an octopus cluster of boxes and cables.

FrankWhat PCIe cards are there for PCs that can capture 444 HDMI? The only one from BM I know of is the $995 http://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/decklinkhdextreme/techspecs/. Then one would need a very tiny PC to put the PCIe card and hard drives into, which could be pretty nice as well. Not as portable as you would wish, but much cheaper 444 than a Cinedeck, Cinemartin or Gemini 444.


I didn't find any RGB 444 recorder for PC sofarhttp://www.blackmagic-design.com/products/decklinkhdextreme/techspecs/

vishy1983
07-26-2011, 08:54 PM
Apple route is convincing me as of now.as there is no word available on matrox frame rate support...I am just researching on practical limitations with this workflow..Hope magic has driver for Lion OS as well
Hope somebody could come up thunderbolt + ipad / android tab for making life much easier

bkmvincent
07-26-2011, 09:02 PM
Apple route is convincing me as of now.as there is no word available on matrox frame rate support...I am just researching on practical limitations with this workflow..Hope magic has driver for Lion OS as well
Hope somebody could come up thunderbolt + ipad / android tab for making life much easier

You have to incorporate disk space and disk speed into the workflow as well. Drives fast enough will more than likely need external power!

vishy1983
07-26-2011, 09:22 PM
1.8GHz Dual-Core Intel Core i7,256GB Flash Storage from apple should able to handle though its not large..since i will not edit on mac pro air

mandrean
07-27-2011, 07:02 AM
You have to incorporate disk space and disk speed into the workflow as well. Drives fast enough will more than likely need external power!The BlackMagic UltraStudio 3D can capture to a codec of choice, e.g. CineForm 444/1080p or ProRes 4444/1080p, in realtime.

CineForm 444/1080p is around 40 MB/s (source (http://www.cineform.com/support/faqs.php#t11).) ProRes 4444/1080p is around ~35 MB/s (source (http://documentation.apple.com/en/finalcutpro/professionalformatsandworkflows/index.html#chapter=10%26section=4) in Mbit/s, divide by 8 to get in MByte/s.) Many external bus-powered FireWire 800 drives can reach those speeds, e.g. the G-DRIVE mini (http://www.g-technology.com/products/g-drive-mini.cfm) with ~60 MB/s R/W speeds (source (http://www.g-technology.com/products/_images/g-drive-mini/g-drive-mini_quickbench-5400_large.jpg).) There is also the FireWire 800 bus-powered 1.5TB G-RAID mini (http://www.g-technology.com/products/g-raid-mini.cfm) with write speed of ~115 MB/s (source (http://www.g-technology.com/products/_images/g-raid-mini/g-raid-mini_aja_large.jpg)).

No need to choose G-Tech though. I'm sure there are plenty of other bus-powered FW800 external hard drives that are more than enough for CineForm 444/1080p or ProRes 4444/1080p.

Dermot
07-27-2011, 08:34 AM
I didn't find any RGB 444 recorder for PC sofar
Avid DNx has a 444 flavor, need to have the Avid currently, recently they stated they will be putting it out to the rest of the world...

d

bkmvincent
07-27-2011, 06:27 PM
The BlackMagic UltraStudio 3D can capture to a codec of choice, e.g. CineForm 444/1080p or ProRes 4444/1080p, in realtime.

CineForm 444/1080p is around 40 MB/s (source (http://www.cineform.com/support/faqs.php#t11).) ProRes 4444/1080p is around ~35 MB/s (source (http://documentation.apple.com/en/finalcutpro/professionalformatsandworkflows/index.html#chapter=10%26section=4) in Mbit/s, divide by 8 to get in MByte/s.) Many external bus-powered FireWire 800 drives can reach those speeds, e.g. the G-DRIVE mini (http://www.g-technology.com/products/g-drive-mini.cfm) with ~60 MB/s R/W speeds (source (http://www.g-technology.com/products/_images/g-drive-mini/g-drive-mini_quickbench-5400_large.jpg).) There is also the FireWire 800 bus-powered 1.5TB G-RAID mini (http://www.g-technology.com/products/g-raid-mini.cfm) with write speed of ~115 MB/s (source (http://www.g-technology.com/products/_images/g-raid-mini/g-raid-mini_aja_large.jpg)).

No need to choose G-Tech though. I'm sure there are plenty of other bus-powered FW800 external hard drives that are more than enough for CineForm 444/1080p or ProRes 4444/1080p.

Wow, didn't realize bus powered FW800 would get even close to those speeds. Especially since you see those smaller/slower drives in the bus powered versions anyway. Good to know.

If someone can confirm the MacBook Air and one of the Thunderbolt solutions working, I'm extremely intrigued. The MacBook could double as a director's monitor. I do remember though when recording via an AJA card on a MacPro there was lag between what was happening real-time and what was being displayed on the computer monitor. I would hope that isn't the case with this solution

I also might be missing something, but I don't think the MacBook Air comes with FW800?

mandrean
07-27-2011, 09:25 PM
I also might be missing something, but I don't think the MacBook Air comes with FW800?True. The MB Air has no FW800. It has one Thunderbolt and two USB 2.0 ports.

There is a Thunderbolt to FW800 adapter (http://www.sonnettech.com/news/nab2011/). It could be daisy-chained with other Thunderbolt products, if the other product has an extra Thunderbolt port. At NAB 2011 BlackMagic showed off the UltraStudio 3D with two Thunderbolt ports (in and out) for daisy chaining (source (http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/2383/skrmavbild20110728kl051.png).) But for some reason BlackMagic seems to have removed one of the Thunderbolt ports on the UltraStudio 3D in the shipping product which means no daisy-chaining (source (http://www.blackmagic-design.com/media/804596/ultrastudio3d.jpg).)

So for now, until someone releases a daisy-chainable Thunderbolt FW800 adapter, you'll need a MacBook Pro I guess.

mandrean
07-28-2011, 07:22 AM
Alright. I have it. No need to get a MacBook Pro (if you don't already have one, that is.)

You could get the $599 Mac Mini. It has FireWire 800, HDMI out and Thunderbolt I/O + other stuff.

You would however need an HDMI screen and AC power, just as the BlackMagic UltraStudio 3D needs AC power as well. So this is not a run-and-gun solution like perhaps the Cinedeck. But for studio work, or when you're doing narrative and you have access to power, it's much cheaper. Something like $7,000 cheaper (source (http://www.abelcine.com/store/Cinedeck-Extreme-Kit/).)

zecahue
08-04-2011, 07:50 PM
Any 8bit 444 vs 10bit 422 comparison?

NeedCreative
08-05-2011, 06:17 AM
Any 8bit 444 vs 10bit 422 comparison?

You're not going to see much difference between 422 and 444 at the same bit depth unless you're doing very heavy VFX compositing. There's just not that much of a difference as there is going from 420 to 422.

8 bit vs 10 bit is another story (you can have 422 8 or 10 bit and 444 8 or 10 bit; they are independent). 10 bit color can give you better color gradiations. The key is what comes out of the camera; the FS100 can only output 8 bit color. The F3 can do 10 bit. Both can do 444.

Dermot
08-05-2011, 10:09 AM
I would say it depends on where the final images are being displayed...

IMHO - if it's for broadcast (in YUV/422 by defination) or web, the diffrences are not very noticable
IMHO - if it's for 444 deliverables like DCP, then the diffrences are substaintial, even more so if you are working in P3.

This is from working in 444 constantly, and then doing the broadcast version in YUV/422 - today i'm doing day 6 of the grade on a feature, all 444/P3 in a Dci2K project.. this one is shot on film, last one was RED, before that Alexa, and before that an indie feature shot on Ex1's.. the Ex1 was a pig like object in comaprison.. the film still made it into the Montreal Film Fest a week ago or so....

I'm spoiled by 444 and uncompressed for sure....

d/

zecahue
08-05-2011, 10:23 AM
You're not going to see much difference between 422 and 444 at the same bit depth unless you're doing very heavy VFX compositing. There's just not that much of a difference as there is going from 420 to 422.

8 bit vs 10 bit is another story (you can have 422 8 or 10 bit and 444 8 or 10 bit; they are independent). 10 bit color can give you better color gradiations. The key is what comes out of the camera; the FS100 can only output 8 bit color. The F3 can do 10 bit. Both can do 444.

Yes I know, but since 444 is a free lunch in the FS100, Iīm quite curious to see how it will perform. If something between 8bit 422 and 10bit 422 it will already be very nice extra juice to play.

NeedCreative
08-08-2011, 09:44 AM
I would say it depends on where the final images are being displayed...

IMHO - if it's for broadcast (in YUV/422 by defination) or web, the diffrences are not very noticable
IMHO - if it's for 444 deliverables like DCP, then the diffrences are substaintial, even more so if you are working in P3.

This is from working in 444 constantly, and then doing the broadcast version in YUV/422 - today i'm doing day 6 of the grade on a feature, all 444/P3 in a Dci2K project.. this one is shot on film, last one was RED, before that Alexa, and before that an indie feature shot on Ex1's.. the Ex1 was a pig like object in comaprison.. the film still made it into the Montreal Film Fest a week ago or so....

I'm spoiled by 444 and uncompressed for sure....

d/

I'l give you that, though it depends on your workflow. I was thinking Broadcast or lower.

Lliam Worthington
09-16-2011, 11:00 AM
Loving this thread. Thanks for all your discussions everyone. Hope it continues.

zcream
04-12-2016, 12:58 PM
@mandrean This is an old thread. But I could never get Cineform as a capture codec in US 3d. How did you manage to get that option ?

The BlackMagic UltraStudio 3D can capture to a codec of choice, e.g. CineForm 444/1080p or ProRes 4444/1080p, in realtime.

CineForm 444/1080p is around 40 MB/s (source (http://www.cineform.com/support/faqs.php#t11).) ProRes 4444/1080p is around ~35 MB/s (source (http://documentation.apple.com/en/finalcutpro/professionalformatsandworkflows/index.html#chapter=10%26section=4) in Mbit/s, divide by 8 to get in MByte/s.) Many external bus-powered FireWire 800 drives can reach those speeds, e.g. the G-DRIVE mini (http://www.g-technology.com/products/g-drive-mini.cfm) with ~60 MB/s R/W speeds (source (http://www.g-technology.com/products/_images/g-drive-mini/g-drive-mini_quickbench-5400_large.jpg).) There is also the FireWire 800 bus-powered 1.5TB G-RAID mini (http://www.g-technology.com/products/g-raid-mini.cfm) with write speed of ~115 MB/s (source (http://www.g-technology.com/products/_images/g-raid-mini/g-raid-mini_aja_large.jpg)).

No need to choose G-Tech though. I'm sure there are plenty of other bus-powered FW800 external hard drives that are more than enough for CineForm 444/1080p or ProRes 4444/1080p.

EDV
05-20-2016, 01:15 PM
Since when can the FS100 do 444 ? Did it get hacked or something? External recorders could only get 422 from the FS100 as far as I remember...?

Jeff Kirkland
05-21-2016, 02:41 AM
Nope. Not even sure it's 4:2:2. It's been a long time since I cared to look but I think it's 4:2:0 embedded in a 4:2:2 stream.

Mitch Gross
05-21-2016, 04:18 PM
If memory serves, there was a way to get a true 4:2:2 out of the HDMI stream but it was nonstandard and no one had a recorder to do it at the time. Been too long to accurately remember.

Jeff Kirkland
05-21-2016, 06:56 PM
I hadn't heard that - I'll have to see fi I can track down he info. Not that it matters I guess. The FS100 has one of the best AVCHD implementations ever and it holds up pretty well compared to most 4:2:2 footage from other cameras.

Jeff Kirkland
05-21-2016, 07:13 PM
...and after a quick trip down memory lane, the FS100 outputs 8 bit 4:2:2 via HDMI and, if a recorder that can accept it is connected, the stream can be 4:4:4 RGB (but still with 4:2:2 8 bit embedded in it). Not sure any recorders exist even now that would do that via HDMI though.

Mitch Gross
05-22-2016, 12:44 AM
I know of one that just so happens to be getting a firmware update in just a short time and that update so happens to include 4:4:4 recording over HDMI. :-)

DerekDock
05-25-2016, 11:32 AM
I know of one that just so happens to be getting a firmware update in just a short time and that update so happens to include 4:4:4 recording over HDMI. :-)

Wait are you saying that 444 will be available on the FS100 soon with the 7Q+? I was about to sell my fs100 but may reconsider.

Mitch Gross
05-25-2016, 08:10 PM
I'm saying that one of the little "tossed in" improvements of the upcoming firmware update is DPX recording of HD 4:4:4 video via HDMI. That would be on the Odyssey7Q+ as the Odyssey7Q cannot deliver 1080p60 of any kind over HDMI, only up to 1080p30. Not sure if that is what the FS100 can deliver -- honestly it's been awhile for me with that particular camera.

jpham
06-20-2016, 05:34 PM
Will this 4:4:4 enhancement supports FS700 and FS7 in PRORES or just DPX ? over SDI and HDMI or just HDMI ?
any HDMI ?

Mitch Gross
06-20-2016, 09:33 PM
FS7 & FS700 do not output 4:4:4 signals so we cannot record them. We already accept SDI-carried signals of 4:4:4 2K/HD in 12-bit and 10-bit for recording in DPX, Apple ProRes 4444(XQ) and Apple ProRes 4444. This update added a very specific use of an HDMI-based 4:4:4 signal, which we will now record in DPX. It's a pretty rare bird, available from some computer systems and (I think) a single camera.