PDA

View Full Version : Is there anyway to use 1080p60?



DOSMedia
06-29-2011, 04:49 PM
Okay first of all Ill start by saying I shoot a LOT of 60p. I shoot a lot of action sports (skiing, snowboarding, auto racing), so I love/need the smooth look of 60p, but nothing seems to support 1080p60, except for episode 6, which is $400.
And no, I do not want to conform everything to 24, because that is completely pointless to me. I would shoot 1080p60/24 if I wanted to do that.

None of the FCPs support it (although FCPX claims it supports 4k?), and I do not want to spend a bunch of money on Episode.

Is there any other way to convert it to pro res or a format that can be used?

I know I brought this up earlier, but it is starting to get frustrating and I am about to go shoot something on friday that I need to know if it is even worth shooting at 1080 (obviously my non action stuff i shoot 1080p24).

Gary Huff
06-29-2011, 05:05 PM
How are you planning to distribute 1080 60p video? You do realize that YouTube and other online services will convert the frame right, right?

Barry_Green
06-29-2011, 05:57 PM
1080/60p doesn't have any formalized distribution method at all. If you enjoy the look of 60p and want something that's distributable and broadcastable, you might want to look at 720/60p.

barktech
06-29-2011, 08:40 PM
I just went through this exercise. I shot loads of 1080p60 thinking that I can get great slow motion from it. First thing is, FCP7 will not ingest 1080p60. I purchased clipwrap and transcoded it to prores 422. Because I want the slow motion effect in my 1080p30 timeline, I used Cinema tools to adjust the frame rate, except, it does not like the clipwrap version. So I put the clipwrap prores files through compressor and now they worked with Cinema tools to get 1080p30 as slow motion.

If I do it again the workfloow will be clipwrap the existing files into quicktime (not transcode), dump into compressor for the prores transcode and into Cinema tools for slow motion.

The bottom line is that 1080p60 is not well supported yet so expect painful conversions.

cuervo
06-29-2011, 09:14 PM
I just went through this exercise. I shot loads of 1080p60 thinking that I can get great slow motion from it. First thing is, FCP7 will not ingest 1080p60. I purchased clipwrap and transcoded it to prores 422. Because I want the slow motion effect in my 1080p30 timeline, I used Cinema tools to adjust the frame rate, except, it does not like the clipwrap version. So I put the clipwrap prores files through compressor and now they worked with Cinema tools to get 1080p30 as slow motion.

If I do it again the workfloow will be clipwrap the existing files into quicktime (not transcode), dump into compressor for the prores transcode and into Cinema tools for slow motion.

The bottom line is that 1080p60 is not well supported yet so expect painful conversions.

ESPN just approved 1080p60, so expect the NLE makers to follow suit very soon.
1080p60 is supported by Adobe media Encoder CS5.5 as well as Tmpgen Video Mastering Works 5

moldcad
06-30-2011, 03:33 AM
Vegas Pro supports it already.

maarek
06-30-2011, 05:15 AM
Premiere has supported it for a long time now too. No need to transcode or clipwrap, just speedup/down in the program itself.

NeedCreative
07-02-2011, 09:44 PM
FCPx, despite how bad it is for many, does also support 1080/60p.

DOSMedia
07-07-2011, 01:22 AM
FCPx, despite how bad it is for many, does also support 1080/60p.

It does indeed, but it does not recognize it on import (as in MTS 1080p60 files), which is really dumb to me... plus I still use FCP 7 for almost everything.

I just figured 1080p60 is going to be recognized by almost everything within a year or so.

Cuero, I am excited to hear ESPN moving to 1080p60. I didnt even know it was possible to broadcast that yet. Good thing ESPN is one of my employers (although my work for them doesnt go on TV).

Barktech, did you try the trial version of clipwrap first? I have the trial and although it says that the only disadvantage is that you can only encode 1 minute of each video, it also does not recognize 1080p60 MTS files.

Am I missing a driver? I dont think that would make sense though since Episode works fine (I only have the trial since its $400 or so).

Thanks for the help fellas.

DOSMedia
07-07-2011, 01:23 AM
How are you planning to distribute 1080 60p video? You do realize that YouTube and other online services will convert the frame right, right?

And yes I do realize that. Vimeo converts to 24p (i believe), but there is still a CLEAR difference in frame rates when your editing.

eheath
07-07-2011, 02:12 AM
How are you planning to distribute 1080 60p video? You do realize that YouTube and other online services will convert the frame right, right?

Me and bentley both do alot of action sports filming and we both shot 720p60 when shooting these action sports. it allows us to slow down the action or just throw it in a 24p timeline and let it drop 36 frames for us. when it comes to action 60p is key and the 1080p60 is a very nice feature that i hope to use when i eventually purchase an fs100, but the fact that FCP wont recognize it is very frustrating. When it comes to using variable speeds and for action sports, 60p is the way to go for me (non action 24p obviously) but 90% of my shooting is action sports. I hope something changes in the next couple months before i get a fs100 because half the reason i want to buy it is for the 1080p60 with sound. Conforming to 30p or 24p would work, but 40% is very slow for my style of filming/editing.

DOSMedia
07-07-2011, 03:04 AM
Me and bentley both do alot of action sports filming and we both shot 720p60 when shooting these action sports. it allows us to slow down the action or just throw it in a 24p timeline and let it drop 36 frames for us. when it comes to action 60p is key and the 1080p60 is a very nice feature that i hope to use when i eventually purchase an fs100, but the fact that FCP wont recognize it is very frustrating. When it comes to using variable speeds and for action sports, 60p is the way to go for me (non action 24p obviously) but 90% of my shooting is action sports. I hope something changes in the next couple months before i get a fs100 because half the reason i want to buy it is for the 1080p60 with sound. Conforming to 30p or 24p would work, but 40% is very slow for my style of filming/editing.

The frustrating thing is that FCP X half supports it. You can make a 1080p60 timeline, but it does not recognize a 1080p60 MTS file. It does recognize a 1080p60 prores file as well, but the only way I have been able to create one of those is with Episode Trial version which puts a watermark over the shots and the non trial versions are way to expensive.

eheath
07-07-2011, 12:16 PM
The frustrating thing is that FCP X half supports it. You can make a 1080p60 timeline, but it does not recognize a 1080p60 MTS file. It does recognize a 1080p60 prores file as well, but the only way I have been able to create one of those is with Episode Trial version which puts a watermark over the shots and the non trial versions are way to expensive.

those the mts files into adobe and export them as prores? can you even do that? i know you could export it h.264 or something but i dont know how you'd make that 1080p60

MattDavis
07-07-2011, 12:24 PM
the only way I have been able to create one of those is with Episode Trial version which puts a watermark over the shots and the non trial versions are way to expensive.

And it's mute through Episode. I have a vain hope that Sony and Apple may deign to talk to each other about this at some point, but Sony's got to help NLE people work with FS100 footage like they did when the Z1 came out. JVC didn't with the HD100 and its HDV was almost impossible to use for a long time.

cuervo
07-07-2011, 02:00 PM
Adobe's Media Encoder CS5.5 will detect and read the 1080P60 footage and conform 60p video to 30p. That works for me, then I import to my NLE as a slomo 29.97 fps., progressive.

DOSMedia
07-07-2011, 02:04 PM
I GOT IT! YES!

I got it with probably the LEAST expected program you could think of. I remember reading somewhere that Toast Titanium might do the trick and it does! I downloaded Toast Titanium 10 and just dropped in my 1080p60 MTS file into its video conversion file and BAM! it converted it easily to 1080p60 Prores 422! Soo stoked right now!

So for anyone that wants to know this, just use Toast Titanium 10 (I know there is a new one, but I just downloaded this one for free. Going to go buy it now that I know it works!).

Damn I am SOOO Stoked right now. I have been dreaming of 1080p60 ever since I bought my HVX 4 years ago, and now I have an amazing 1080p60 image to work with :).

elapheysal
07-08-2011, 11:12 AM
Booya. Good thing to know, hopefully the other NLE's get this rolling before winter hits!

DM_rider
07-12-2011, 12:11 AM
I am having trouble getting 1080p60p clips to playback with audio, yet alone converted to pro res with audio. I can get the footage converted to Pro Res using the Toast method DOS mentioned, but with no audio. Anyone have any luck?

MattDavis
07-12-2011, 10:10 AM
Yes - re-wrap the MTS files to QuickTime (no conversion) using ClipWrap (http://www.divergentmedia.com/clipwrap), but with the 'Convert Audio to PCM' switched on if you're using AC3. Then use THAT QT-wrapped movie through your prores method (yes, I'm using Episode as I don't have Toast 10). Got 1080p50 ProRes WITH AUDIO. Yay! Finally!