PDA

View Full Version : FS100 for dummies

morgan_moore
05-24-2011, 11:16 AM
Some silly questions about the camera..

-does it have an internal mic

(I see this as useful for synch audio only)

===

the codec

what is the pain level in transcoding for editing in FCP

====

S

NeedCreative
05-24-2011, 11:59 AM
1) no (but it comes with an XLR shotgun).
2) same as with any AVCHD - Log and Transfer to ProRes

morgan_moore
05-24-2011, 12:05 PM
1) hmm a crap mic like on the EX1 or canon DSLR would be good !

2)

I have no experiecne of AVCHD , Ive only ever shot two cams EX1 and canon DSLR(s)

Im a newb to editing..
(either H264->.prores via stream clip (canon) or XDcam unwrapped)

I dont L+T at the mo - just get my prores or XD clips and drag it into a 'Bin' in FCP

Basically will I need a time consuming process (like a tracnscoding a DSLR) or be editing in 2 mins from getting the clips on my pooter (EX1)

Thanks

S

olindacat
05-24-2011, 12:06 PM
Nobody is asking sillier Qs than me :-) I know it ships w/a shotgun mic, and I suppose the 'pain' is somewhat dictated by your hardware. What kind of computer do you have?

morgan_moore
05-24-2011, 12:09 PM
another 'dumb' question

how does gain equate to ISO

morgan_moore
05-24-2011, 12:11 PM
Nobody is asking sillier Qs than me :-) I know it ships w/a shotgun mic, and I suppose the 'pain' is somewhat dictated by your hardware. What kind of computer do you have?

I have a mac 10.5.8, 2GHz 6 gig of ram, probably 5 years old and FCP

there is no pain with the EX1, Im editing in two mins

S

mico
05-24-2011, 12:16 PM
In about a month the new FCP will come out and the transcode will happen in the background while you use the avchd to edit immediately.

For now a prores transcode from AVCHD is the best option.

morgan_moore
05-24-2011, 12:19 PM
.. which will take similar time to the DSLR workflow?

olindacat
05-24-2011, 12:22 PM
another 'dumb' question

how does gain equate to ISO