PDA

View Full Version : FS100 Resolution



vcfilms
05-24-2011, 10:09 AM
http://www.sony.co.uk/biz/product/nxcamcorders/nex-fs100e/technicalspecs

Just took a look at that document. Does the FS-100 in fact have 1000 lines of resolution? If so, that's great news, I havent been paying much attention to this cam until now!

FelixGER
05-24-2011, 10:24 AM
itīs horizontal lines in that document. isnīt vertical resolution the important value?
I read of a real resolution of about 780 lines unfortunately, less than the 850 lines I get from my GH2 :(
But that really is the only downside of the cam it seems.

But I really donīt understand why they were unable to get the maximum 1080p resolution out of the cam, while the sensor has over 3 milion video optimized pixels.

Benjus
05-24-2011, 11:04 AM
I believe some cameras are "castrated" so they do not overshadow other more expensive products like the F3.

morgan_moore
05-24-2011, 11:05 AM
http://www.dvuser.co.uk/images/img/reviews/camcorders/sony-fs100/chart.jpg

Hidef1080
05-24-2011, 11:07 AM
Looks like 800 or better to me.

vcfilms
05-24-2011, 11:10 AM
That's a shame. Was hoping to see the resolution of my ex1 with the large sensor, that would have been something. So resolution is less than or about the same as my AF-100?

John Caballero
05-24-2011, 11:23 AM
Oh boy. Here we go again.

imag
05-24-2011, 11:30 AM
Oh boy. Here we go again.

+1

FelixGER
05-24-2011, 11:30 AM
Looks like 800 or better to me.

How can I read this chart?
800 is pretty much ok

I think the AF100 only resolves 680-700 lines

vcfilms
05-24-2011, 11:32 AM
Oh boy. Here we go again.

Hopefully that wasn't for me. I'm not trying to start a flame war here. Just trying to gauge actual data on the resolution of the camera.

imag
05-24-2011, 11:38 AM
I hate to crosslink to another blog, but if you read through this thread and still want to talk about lines of resolution, I will be impressed: http://www.dvinfo.net/forum/sony-avchd-nex-fs100/495018-upcoming-hands-comparison-f3-fs100-af100-philip-bloom.html FYI - Line discussion really gets going on page 4.

morgan_moore
05-24-2011, 12:11 PM
It occurs to me that while the Fs100 may have the same sensor as the F3 it may have a different AA filter in front

Additionally I wonder if this is designed to soften the image to somehow interact with the lower bandwidth codec

the above is speculation

Of course in the res chart I linked to what I dont see is the wild moiree and colours of a canon DSLR

Softness per se is less of an issue

speedracerlo
05-24-2011, 02:24 PM
I think I read that the AF100 only resolves about 680 lines

evilthought
05-24-2011, 02:56 PM
How can I read this chart?
800 is pretty much ok

I think the AF100 only resolves 680-700 lines

http://www.dvuser.co.uk/images/img/reviews/camcorders/sony-fs100/chart.jpg

where it says "8" that's 800 lines? Can you see the lines at 800 in the chart?

FelixGER
05-24-2011, 03:05 PM
http://www.dvuser.co.uk/images/img/reviews/camcorders/sony-fs100/chart.jpg

where it says "8" that's 800 lines? Can you see the lines at 800 in the chart?

Yeah, multiple times. I can see that the single lines in section 8 are visibly distinguishable, which is not possible in the "10" section but I have no clue how I can tell precise numbers by means of this chart, like "thatīs 780 lines!"

NeedCreative
05-25-2011, 05:46 AM
Looks like 800 or better to me too. Not shabby, especially compared to the AF100 (or a 5D Mark II -= one chart I saw looks about the same vertically. It's horizontal res is lousy though - maybe 500? and aliases quickly where the FS100 is hitting 1000)