PDA

View Full Version : What do you find the hardest when staging your scenes?

Aaron Koolen
04-10-2005, 05:32 PM
Hi everyone. I've been dabbling for a couple of years, mainly in general videography, and have done a couple of informal, non serious shorts. I find the process of directing damned hard and for me staging and blocking is very difficult. Probably cause my repertoire and understanding is very small.

What I tend to find hardest are the "master" shots - the wider ones. Trying to visualise (And shoot) a rather open area with many actors, always to me comes out very static and boring. Guess, what it is, is that I find it hard to stage the start of a scene.

Does anyone have any tips for working out master shots and going about the process of staging? Do you try to get into mids and closeups quickly? Any hints on art direction?

Also, what do you guys find the hardest part about your blocking? Changing screen direction? reverses? 2 person scenes, 3?

Just after some general info, insights, your own problems, whatever.

Aaron

10s
04-10-2005, 10:51 PM
I find everything difficult.

As it is with art, there are endless opportunities, so how do i choose, and how will i know it's the best...answer: I won't know...so i might as well jump into it and trust my inner sensabilities. Hopefully myself and others will appreciate it.

J.R. Hudson
04-10-2005, 11:49 PM
I agree; my experience this far has been not being planned enoug in pre-production. I'm not experienced enough like some old pro that can just come onto the set and go "Oh yeah; that's it. That's what I'll do."

Im finding I need some extensive planning before hand (storyboards and shot list's) in order for my blocking and staging to to be smooth.

Aaron Koolen
04-11-2005, 01:13 AM