PDA

View Full Version : Directing Advice

tkoind
03-07-2005, 05:56 PM
I am finally going into production of my first creative film. Sunday we finally finished casting for our short film. The lead actress we found is perfect. Over the last few months I have collected a team to help make the movie. Some with experience, some with passion and a lot of time studying. And, of course, a DVX100 to help it look nice.

We have a strong script, good story board and have blocked many of the shots. Much of the design and other preparations are also finished. After a few weeks of rehearsals and reworks with the cast we plan to start shooting in April. Our sets and locations have been sorted, our planning has been well organized along with schedule, techinical considerations and clearances. The team know each other and get along well. So now we are ready to go.

I'm a first time director and much of our team are new. I have a lot of leadership experience in music production, performance and other creative projects, But this s the first creative film and my first film direction role. I would like some general advice from experienced directors about challenges you've faced and tips for how to best lead this team to realizing this film. How do you recommending pushing all of our abilities to achieve good results while also making the team feel like a team?

Thank you for your help in advance.

Jim Brennan
03-07-2005, 06:31 PM
If you have time, I'd read "Directing Actors" by Judith Weston. It will really help you get the best possible performance from your actors. Aside from that, and keeping your cast and crew fed, I'd say you've done a lot more work that most first timers do. It sounds like you have put a lot of thought and planning into this. That will pay untold dividends when you roll. Good luck.