PDA

View Full Version : over-correcting for output



Frizzle Fry
10-11-2004, 09:45 AM
Hello everyone. I work at a newspaper and we have to really pump up the colors of our photos for 4-color output on newsprint. On-screen it looks terrible, but in the paper it looks as it should.

Here's the question: Because of loss of quality in compression and output to DVD, do any of you over-compensate in the timeline? For example, do you sharpen a little bit or boost the colors slightly...

Just curious if anyone does it; I don't have time to experiment these days.

Mike_Donis
10-11-2004, 08:15 PM
I never colour correct using the computer monitor - I always use an NTSC output. That way, the footage looks exactly as I want it to in NTSC

TC
10-12-2004, 10:45 PM
Yea, compression on video won't change colors.

Frizzle Fry
10-13-2004, 10:54 AM
Cool, thanks guys!