PDA

View Full Version : HOW DO I CONNECT RODE NTG-2 MIC to 7D ??



George D.
08-01-2010, 06:43 AM
How do you hook up a Rode NTG-2 or a NTG-3 Microphone to a Canon 7D "directly" into the camera?

Do I need some kind of adapter, and if so, what?

Thanks.

Alex H.
08-01-2010, 06:51 AM
Your best bet is to get an XLR converter box from Beachtek or Juicedlink. With the NT-2, you have the option of powering by AA battery. With the NTG-3, you'll need to get a box that supplies phantom power.

George D.
08-01-2010, 07:11 AM
Your best bet is to get an XLR converter box from Beachtek or Juicedlink. With the NT-2, you have the option of powering by AA battery. With the NTG-3, you'll need to get a box that supplies phantom power.

Thanks, but I do NOT have the extra money for that, so it looks like the NTG-2.

I just want a way to hook the mic to the camera for now. Later, maybe I can upgrade.

Pietro Impagliazzo
08-01-2010, 07:18 AM
If the mic is AA-powered, this: http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/320464-REG/Shure_RP325_3_Pin_XLR_Female_to.html

Get a JL later or a full-blown recorder.

You can only single-system audio enough until you realize how bad of a solution it is.

...
08-01-2010, 08:48 AM
Actually, you'll need this XLR adapter:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/589872-REG/Pearstone_8111240_LMT100_Low_to.html

jambredz
08-01-2010, 08:55 AM
question...if i get a 3 pin female XLR to mini cable with my ntg2 (with AA batteries)...would that be better/less/same quality as usuing a rodevideo mic?

Paul Hudson
08-01-2010, 09:05 AM
With no override on the AGC on the 7D you are going to be pretty unhappy with the sound. Most are recording double system sound to get get quality.

GreatScott
08-02-2010, 10:02 AM
Agreed.
Double system is the way to go.

On-board audio is only good for reference.

twotonepunkkid
08-02-2010, 12:24 PM
You can pick up a Zoom H4 for under $150 used online. Buy it. It'll be the best (and should be the first) audio solution.

krisjohn
08-11-2010, 09:13 AM
yeah i purchased an XLR -3.5mm cable to hook up my audio technica mic to the 7D and the sound is bad.

audio is clear but alot of ambient noise especially in rooms

Gary Huff
08-11-2010, 09:36 AM
You either record the audio separately using a Zoom H4n or purchase this (http://www.juicedlink.com/audio-preamps-mixers-etc/product-list/jl-dt454)