PDA

View Full Version : Directing a gun fight scene

calito
10-04-2004, 08:51 PM
I'm sorry if this is not the appropriate place for this add.

I'll soon be shooting a gun fight scene for my trailer and I have no idea of how and who to hire in the gun department. I've been told that it must be a certified person. Besides putting an add in craigslist what else can I do? Is there a sight dedicated to this sort of thing?

Maybe some one can point me in the right direction.

Again, i'm really sorry if this is the wrong place.

Also, I'm open to any advice you're willing to offer in directing a action scene with gun shooting. I've never done it before so anything will help.

THiNSPiRiT
10-04-2004, 09:59 PM
Firstly, don't use real guns... use realistic looking fake guns... they should not be able to fire bullets. Big time hollywood films sometimes use real guns with blanks, however they also have way more in the way of liability than a smalltime production. Brendan Lee was killed by a real gun when shooting the crow. I would recommend against using real ones as much as possible simply because it's not always needed to make it good.

Secondly, you can do muzzle flashes in post relatively easy. The real trick is to get your actors to look like they're actually shooting a gun and react in the way someone would normally with the kickback and facial expressions.