PDA

View Full Version : Handheld vs. steadycam vs. dolly

briankay
10-13-2004, 01:03 PM
I'm a novice with little equipment and thinking about making a short film soon. *I'm planning on several short tracking and dolly-type shots (nothing too elaborate) inside a house, and trying to figure out the best way to pull these shots off. *The easiest way seems to be just to shoot handheld, but I really want to avoid amatuerish camera-shake. *The next easiest method seems to be with the use of an inexpensive steady-cam contraption (I've seen various plans on the internet). *More invovled would be a dolly on a track, which seems to be the most precise, but the equipment seems costly and time-consuming given my contraints. *Any ideas? *How do you guys execute simple shots when the camera is in motion, even slightly? *Is there any one piece of equipment that I'd be wise to invest in? *Sorry if this question is either too broad or too dumb.

-Brian

Barry_Green
10-13-2004, 01:06 PM
A dolly will give you the smoothest shots with the least amount of work. You can build one yourself from some angle iron and skateboard wheels for under $80.

Next up would be either a small camera jib arm, or a handheld stabilizer like the GlideCam 4000. These both take a lot of practice to make good-looking shots with.

briankay
10-13-2004, 01:14 PM
Thanks for the quick response, Barry. Regarding the skate-board dolly idea: Does your tripod mount to it somehow, or is it a stand alone piece of equipment? Also, how would you accomodate up-and-down movement simultaneous to the rolling of the dolly? Maybe I'm getting myself into Glidecam country with shots with that much motion. Thanks again for your expertise.

-Brian

Stas_Tagios
10-14-2004, 02:01 AM
Any booming of the camera up or down during a dolly move would require a far more expensive and professional dolly (e.g. an Elemack) with a pneumatic boom arm, or a jib arm; a homemade doorway dolly will only let you dolly the camera. *