PDA

View Full Version : commerical directing

aaron_wade
12-31-2004, 12:05 AM
any advice on how to get into commercial directing. any good routes to take? ad agencies? any advice would help. thanks.

Jim Brennan
12-31-2004, 08:52 AM
It depends. If you have your own crew, you can freelance out to marketing companies. They will lok at your reel and decide if they want to throw any business your way. I am currently going this route by shooting a few spots for friends who own businesses. The spots may or may not air, but I will have something for my reel.

I've also had some success just approaching business owners. If you do your homework about broadcast rates, combining that with what your expenses are, you can ballpark them a package price. I contacted my local cable company and spoke to their advertising guy. He was very helpful.

I'm still learning the ropes myself, but the impression that I get is that there is a demand for competent shooters. I'm sure there are more experienced folks on this site who can weigh in though.

cyclone
12-31-2004, 10:40 AM
A good 'spec' spot (written and funded yourself) works extremely well at ad agencies. They are always looking to find new talent (which translates to 'less expensive') and it is a great way to make sure the spot shows off your particular talents (i.e. humor, vignettes, tabletop, performance, cinematography, whatever). Good luck!

Bermudaforce
12-31-2004, 06:11 PM
aaron_wade,
Hey, if you have already have friends in the industry it's much easier to get work. But if you don't know anybody then start asking if your friends and have their friends ask somebody. A friend of mine started out working as a PA and now he's a 1st AC on several car commecials. Sooner or later he'll end of directing one.. You never know. Just continue to do what you are going to do.

natob2
01-05-2005, 11:09 AM