PDA

View Full Version : how long did your first full-length feature take?

non
11-22-2004, 06:31 PM
basically, I'm just curious. I started shooting mine earlier this month. I've done 4 days, averaging about 4-6 hours a day(keeping it pretty liad-back since nobody is beign paid). I'd priginally thought I'd knock out alot more in a shorter time but now I realize it's gonna take a few months jsut to shoot.
was curious what others did.

Thanks in advance

alveraz
11-22-2004, 07:01 PM
Our AD just knocked out our preliminary schedules, and we're looking at 14 days, 10 hours each day, depending. That will be in three locations, Anza Borrego, Yuma, and a ranch in San Diego,CA. It's all about pre-production to keep things in check. Good luck.
----------

I edited this post, because I remembered the last feature I worked on, which took 5 months due to really poor pre-production, which will not be the case this time out. Just another reason to work hard on your shot list, storyboards, scheduling, crew meetings, blocking, etc..

Good luck...again.

Jaime Valles
11-23-2004, 12:03 PM
I'm finishing the editing of a 90 minute feature right now. It took 7 weeks and 36 MiniDV tapes to shoot. This was after a LOT of pre-production planning and storyboarding every single shot. We eventually guessed that it would take us 1 hour per shot. We were about right, and only went over the schedule by 2 days. We were shooting from 8am until 4pm every day, and then watched the dailies and got everything ready for the next day. That was in the Summer of 2003. Be prepared to spend a LONG time capturing and logging your footage. And get at least 500GB of Hard Disk space. You're going to need it.

Best of luck!

khmuse
11-23-2004, 02:07 PM