PDA

View Full Version : First production (music video) - have I missed anything in planning?

danabnormal
07-02-2010, 01:18 PM
Hi guys, great forum. I'm new to video and this place looks ace!

I record music at home and decided to shoot a music video for one of my tracks. I will be using a Canon 7D and have access to AfterEffects and Premiere at work so will be spending long hours in the office during post.

The video I'm looking to do is one continuous shot in first person POV from start to finish, involving the camera walking around several streets occasionally looking at images dotted around the place that will be put in afterwards and motion tracked.

I've found the location I want to film in and have storyboarded the video (stick men and very badly drawn streets) and scanned the images in and placed them in order along with the audio track and I'm happy with how it looks.

What else would you recommend I plan?

I need to check the location at different times of day to check for shadowfall, but I think my biggest problem may be focus. I won't be zooming, so as long as I'm careful with keeping the camera an equal distance from points of interest during the walk do you think I'll need to focus as I go along? Any tips for this?

Many thanks chaps. I'm loving my new toy and can't wait to start playing properly (I keep having to tell myself.... plan boy, plan.... THEN play!).

[Edit: Apologies if this is in the wrong forum!]

deltoidjohn
07-04-2010, 04:13 AM
If you are going to shoot the whole thing as a single POV clip while you're walking then you will DEFINITELY need a steadicam or similar stabiliser - and you'll need to practice with it lots before you attempt this shot. Renting one for a few days may seem like alot of money but believe me you'll wish you had if you don't.