PDA

View Full Version : best Mac program to determine Mbit rate???



Nicholas Natteau
06-23-2010, 06:50 AM
After updating to the GH1 firmware hack, FCP7 stills tells me that my clips are 17 Mbits per second.

I read somewhere on this forum that FCP7 is not reliable for measuring your Mbit rate. If so, what is the best Mac program that allows you to measure your Mbit rate?

I'm also not sure that my firmware hack is working because my 30 second AVCHD 720p60 clip is 490MB. That would mean less than 17Mbit/sec. I don't understand because I input the firmware hack settings very carefully.

Do you have any more settings choices inside the GH1 camera after installing the firmware hack? Everything still looks the same to me.

- Nick

Noel Evans
06-23-2010, 07:27 AM
Hmmm Im not sure of accuracy but qt shows the bitrate.

Nitsuj
06-23-2010, 07:43 AM
I used to be a network support engineer for a media company and we used quicktime to determine bitrate all the time. However Mediainfo is a lot better. Quicktime is pretty accurate but when you compare mediainfo to quicktime they are off by a little.

http://mediainfo.massanti.com/

anthonybsd
06-23-2010, 08:00 AM
I've found Toast player to generally be reliable.

anthonybsd
06-23-2010, 08:00 AM
Hmmm Im not sure of accuracy but qt shows the bitrate.

QT plays AVCHD mts? How did you do that?

svecher
06-23-2010, 08:08 AM
I'm also not sure that my firmware hack is working because my 30 second AVCHD 720p60 clip is 490MB. That would mean less than 17Mbit/sec.

Even GH13 can not produce 30 second AVCHD clips that are 490MB in size. You are looking at a ProRes file. Why are so many Mac folks having trouble with this concept?

http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=214619
http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=214335
http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=214387

Nitsuj
06-23-2010, 08:25 AM
http://mediainfo.massanti.com/

That does the mts files.

Nicholas Natteau
06-23-2010, 01:12 PM
I just don't understand. Whatever program I open, Quicktime, MediaInfo, all show that my bit rate is less than 17Mbits per second. Even though I did the update and my firmware reads "0.0", supposedly normal. I checked and doubled checked all my settings exactly according to the PTools3.exe file.

Magnus387
06-23-2010, 02:26 PM
I am having the exact same issue.

I used MediaInfo and dragged my clip right off the SD card, and it still says that MTS file is running at 15Mbps (I used the pulldown removal option so that's why its not at 17Mbps). Suggestions? Thoughts?

wturber
06-23-2010, 03:59 PM
I am having the exact same issue.

I used MediaInfo and dragged my clip right off the SD card, and it still says that MTS file is running at 15Mbps (I used the pulldown removal option so that's why its not at 17Mbps). Suggestions? Thoughts?


If you shoot a relatively static scene, the intraframe compression is extremely efficient and bit rates drop adaptively. Move the camera around or in some other way make sure there is motion in your scene and you'll see your bitrates go up.

Similarly, shots with plain or out of focus backgrounds compress easily at high qualities. Fine detail is what taxes the compression system most. So if you are shooting with fast lenses or with blue sky backgrounds, you bitrate might not be very high. But this doesn't mean that the quality isn't high.