PDA

View Full Version : 1080p footage ("D" bitrate settings)



danielisaiah
06-15-2010, 09:03 AM
ptool settings:

version change
native 1080/24p
bitrate ajustments to "D" settings

GH1 camera settings
FHD mode
50 shutter

Im still seeing bad "strobing" or clicking when doing pans (either vertical or horizontal) and I thought that this hack would finally let me move the camera around a bit....am I doing something wrong?

does this hack truly make the camera shoot 24fps (24 full frames)? this footage is rendered in a 23.976 timeline - so I can see how this can cause issues

12576757

WesScog
06-15-2010, 10:28 AM
Not seeing it, it looks more or less totally normal during those pans here on the Vimeo clip.

Oedipax
06-15-2010, 10:41 AM
Yeah, if that looks strobey to you then you might just not like the 24p look.

Matthew P
06-15-2010, 12:45 PM
I wouldn't exactly call that strobing. More like juddering, unless my PC isn't fast enough to play a the non-hd vimeo video (which I doubt).

Setting my monitor to a multiple of 24 (in this case I chose 72hz) the judder becomes more pronounced as any strobe is greatly reduced (you'd be surprised how like 30p 24p can be if on a properly set up monitor).

I can't really help I'm afraid as I don't have a GH1 (yet anyway). Although, I suspect it's something in editing that's causing it. Try uploading a raw mts file and see if it still judders.

Actually, you are using AVCHD right? MJPEG in 24p actually just drops frames from 30p, which might be causing the juddering.

mimirsan
06-15-2010, 12:51 PM
Thats basically what 24p looks like to me!

Svart
06-15-2010, 01:12 PM
I don't see anything wrong either.

danielisaiah
06-15-2010, 03:25 PM
I don't see anything wrong either.

hmmm. I guess what im seeing is that "juddering" that Matthew sees. A relatively moderate pan in any direction looks a little off.... almost as if the video is trying to catch up with it self. there's a lack of "sharpness" if you will..

I guess my question again is this: does tester13's hack turn the GH1 in into a true 24Fps camera? because if it does, then I think that I'm running up against two issues. 1) a 50 shutter does not exactly match a 24fps framerate (that would be a 48 shutter - which we GH1 users dont have) and 2) im dropping this into a 23.976 fps time line when it should be a true 24 fps timeline.

Matthew P
06-15-2010, 03:48 PM
It shouldn't be the shutter speed. 1/50th of a second is obviously less than 1/24th of a second, so basically it takes 24 frames a second, each exposed for 1/50th of a second, meaning that the missing time just isn't there. The motion is still smooth because it's sequential, and the camera just waits until it's time for the next frame to be taken.