PDA

View Full Version : building a prison set

ad777
04-07-2010, 03:41 PM
Hey guys, im in need of a jail cell for my senior seminar project for school next year.

the film is set in 1972 communist russia. so i need something that will fit the time period and place.

however, i live in Moorhead Minnesota and securing a location is almost impossible in these parts. people are very wary of film productions because they are unfamiliar with it. plus i dont think any location i could secure would fit the period.

what i was thinking is i would build the set, but i've never built a set before. i used to work construction so i have some experience. i have a green screen room at school which is big enough to house it. i wanted the walls to look something like this

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/24/City_wall_close.jpg (http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/2/24/City_wall_close.jpg)

plus i wanted a small window at the top of the back wall with two iron bars across it. in addition i will need to have a wall which has an iron door. not to mention that i need at least two of the walls to be break away.

any ideas on how to accomplish all this? preferably i would like to do it without using real stone and mortar and as cheaply as possible.

Tommy K
04-08-2010, 09:59 AM
Your requirements don't sound cheap or easy... (hmmm sounds like some girls I know). My suggestion for you is to find and existing structure that you can build around. I would look for an old basement, warehouse or even a barn with a stone foundation. Any of these type locations will work great. Use the existing walls and build a couple of your own walls. That is what I did. Also we built a partial cell next to the first one, so it looked like more than 1 jail cell.

Or you can do what I did last summer and go to Russia. I know a great prison to shoot in... and the residents just love Americans...

ad777
04-09-2010, 03:42 PM