PDA

View Full Version : Moving to HD camera advice

Ogrus
03-22-2010, 08:23 PM
Until now i have used a DVX100B and its time to move to HD. I am a total newbie to HD and need simple language. I want to purchase a new videocam that will film in HD. I want at least the same quality the DVX gave me, of course being HD i guess image quality is better. I use the DVX for documentary work for small local tv networks, so what i film has to be good enough for TV.
Once again, im a newbie to HD, please dont take for granted normal HD knowledge people now
I can spend anything from 1500 to 3000$ (it could be less it could be a little bit more)
Any advice suggestions is very appreciated
Thanks!
Ogrus

PerroneFord
03-22-2010, 08:31 PM
Umm ok. Does it have to be good enough for HD broadcast, or Standard definition broadcast? Because I can tell you right now, you're going to have a heck of time finding any camera under $3k that is suitable for HD broadcast. Doing it under $10k has proven challenging to many folks.

But if you'd simply like to create HD masters, and submit that to broadcast with the expectation that it will be broadcast as standard definition, then you've got a few choices.

Is your computer and editing software up to working with HD? It will require significantly more CPU power than working with the files you have been working with.

Ogrus
03-23-2010, 04:02 AM
Umm ok. Does it have to be good enough for HD broadcast, or Standard definition broadcast? Because I can tell you right now, you're going to have a heck of time finding any camera under $3k that is suitable for HD broadcast. Doing it under $10k has proven challenging to many folks.

But if you'd simply like to create HD masters, and submit that to broadcast with the expectation that it will be broadcast as standard definition, then you've got a few choices.