PDA

View Full Version : Doing documentary work in Africa this summer...

DavidJohnson
01-31-2004, 07:25 AM
Hi everyone. While I was a photojournalist in a previous life, I am new to video documentary work. Looks like my first opportunity to do a significant project will be this summer, as I join a group of high school students and adult sponsors on a AIDS education/abstinence effort in Zimbabwe.

I am looking for resources of all kinds that will help me prepare for this trip. I want to prepare myself in a high-level conceptual manner, so that my work has a thematic consistency. But I also want to prepare for all technical the contingencies of international travel.

Can anyone point me to individuals or organizations for help?

Thanks,
David

Steve Ogden
02-01-2004, 07:44 AM
Hi David,

Sometime in the last month or so, someone posted a link to a website where someone had taken his DVX100 on a round-the-world trip, and talked about his experiences with the camera. Don't recall if it was here on DVXuser.com or over on 2pop. Would be worth searching for.

Nicola
02-01-2004, 08:53 AM
I'm a traveller and i'm always shooting around these are my suggestions:

- A lot of batteries (Jarred has a good deal)
- a light Tripod (manfrotto with a 501/503 head)
- Polarizer
- a nice piece of glass in front of your lens
- a strong bag (lowepro for dv is fine, pelican case is the best)
- Tape as much as yuo can
- A lav mic for interview ( sennaizer is fine)
- Rope
- Black Foil
- Rachet strap
- a maffer clamp
- CTO, CTB, Diffusion, just in case
- A small light
- I found very usefull the Manfrotto magicharm with the camera mount
- small and medium size springclamp
- a french flag

If you have space and the opportunity bring with you a monitor.

This is my package and it fit everything in 3 bags.
Hope is gonna help you to understand what you need.
I have a coming project in Cameroon, It's a documentary about illegal logging.....

n.

bodaphoto
02-01-2004, 01:28 PM