PDA

View Full Version : Encode and upload



SonicStates
03-01-2010, 04:53 AM
First of all, a big thanks to DVXUser for having these festivals. I'm excited to be a part of Betrayal Fest 2010 (Our first attempt at any sort of movie).
I am starting to wonder if I might have missed important information about upload for this fest. I know there are some kinks being ironed out for hosting but anyone, please chime in if I've overlooked news!!!
Second, I'm wondering about recommendations for encoding out of Vegas for Betrayal Fest. All thoughts welcome.

Cheers,
Sam.

RodThompson
03-01-2010, 05:00 PM
Yeah, I need some render help too. Ending up with a thick black border around the whole thing. Not letterboxed, but BORDERED

randal t.
03-01-2010, 09:14 PM
Yep. I have been trying to find out where/how to upload as well. This is my first fest and I don't know if something is wrong with the site or I'm just blind. Someone please help!

Scott F
03-02-2010, 05:48 AM
I need to know when and where we can upload, because I won't have access to a computer on Friday.

If we can do an early upload that would be awesome......and how big is the file size gonna be?

thanks,
Scott

Richard J. Johnson
03-02-2010, 06:11 AM
Where are the leaders? or am I missing something?

Michael Anthony Horrigan
03-02-2010, 06:22 AM
Leaders can be found here at the moment... LEADERS (http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=201151).
Look through the thread.

File size has to be 50MB or less.
I would use Quicktime Pro. <$30.00
Export your film uncompressed then use QT Pro to compress it. Works great.

Great encoding tips for Final Cut and QT can be located in the PDF found HERE (http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showpost.php?p=1425995&postcount=16).

SonicStates
03-02-2010, 06:38 AM
Appreciate it, Michael. Will give that a whirl!
Thanks.

Michael Anthony Horrigan
03-02-2010, 06:46 AM
An upload thread will be made available. When, I don't know. Should be soon though.

MAH

J Davis
03-02-2010, 07:16 AM
File size has to be 50MB or less.


I'm doing the final output on hoz's film and I'm new to the DVX fests.
Can any organizer confirm this 50 meg limit?
It was not mentioned in the Betrayal Fest rules post from Jason Ramsey LINK (http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showpost.php?p=1820178&postcount=1)

Michael Anthony Horrigan
03-02-2010, 07:43 AM
I'm doing the final output on hoz's film and I'm new to the DVX fests.
Can any organizer confirm this 50 meg limit?
It was not mentioned in the Betrayal Fest rules post from Jason Ramsey LINK (http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showpost.php?p=1820178&postcount=1)
It has always been 50mb. Check out every other Fest.
I would aim for that. I doubt they will make a change this late in the game.

Get your film down to 50mb and have it ready, just in case.

MAH

J Davis
03-02-2010, 07:55 AM
It has always been 50mb. Check out every other Fest.
I would aim for that. I doubt they will make a change this late in the game.

Get your film down to 50mb and have it ready, just in case.

MAH


Thanks for your response. I will have a 50meg version ready to go! (but of course I would prefer to go higher)

I will point out again that Jason did not mention the limit in post one, also he did say this in post two

Read them carefully. There are omissions. there are changes. there is new stuff.

Scott F
03-02-2010, 07:58 AM
Rat farts! I'm at 51.3! Back to the lab.....

Michael Anthony Horrigan
03-02-2010, 08:07 AM
Thanks for your response. I will have a 50meg version ready to go! (but of course I would prefer to go higher)

I will point out again that Jason did not mention the limit in post one, also he did say this in post twoThey also said the upload information would be ready Feb 20th!

Hang on to that 50mb copy nice and tight. :)

Personally, I'm hoping for a Vimeo upload page but that's just me. It would allow for streaming and downloading HD copies if permitted.

J Davis
03-02-2010, 08:40 AM
I sent Jason Ramsey a PM asking if he would chime in on the end of this thread. It would be good to have the 50 meg limit confirmed from the organizers.

Michael Anthony Horrigan
03-02-2010, 08:43 AM
I sent Jason Ramsey a PM asking if he would chime in on the end of this thread. It would be good to have the 50 meg limit confirmed from the organizers.Absolutely!

The deadline is in what... 3 days? :shocked:

Rodney V. Smith
03-02-2010, 09:17 AM
I sent Jason Ramsey a PM asking if he would chime in on the end of this thread. It would be good to have the 50 meg limit confirmed from the organizers.

Dude, every single fest over 4 years: 50MB. Hasn't changed. Trust us on this one. 50MB is standard.

Rodney V. Smith
03-02-2010, 09:19 AM
I need to know when and where we can upload, because I won't have access to a computer on Friday.

If we can do an early upload that would be awesome......and how big is the file size gonna be?

thanks,
Scott

Hey Scott, maybe you can send the 50MB file to someone who can upload for you. Just a thought.

Michael Anthony Horrigan
03-02-2010, 09:21 AM
Hey Scott, maybe you can send the 50MB file to someone who can upload for you. Just a thought.I can do it for you if you really need it done. I'm not entering so I won't slip a singing clown into every 30 seconds of your film or anything. :evil:

Rodney V. Smith
03-02-2010, 09:22 AM
I can do it for you if you really need it done. I'm not entering so I won't slip a singing clown into every 30 seconds of your film or anything. :evil:

Is it time for the Clown Costume again? dammit!

J Davis
03-02-2010, 09:31 AM
Dude, every single fest over 4 years: 50MB. Hasn't changed.

Sorry for the noob question


Trust us on this one. 50MB is standard.

ok

Scott F
03-02-2010, 09:37 AM
I can do it for you if you really need it done. I'm not entering so I won't slip a singing clown into every 30 seconds of your film or anything. :evil:

That's too funny. (Scott gets to a computer on Saturday...."WTF????")

We'll see how things shake out. I may need some assistance if the window doesn't open soon.

Michael Anthony Horrigan
03-02-2010, 09:45 AM
That's too funny. (Scott gets to a computer on Saturday...."WTF????")

We'll see how things shake out. I may need some assistance if the window doesn't open soon.
No problem, happy to do it. Minus the clowns of course. :)

RodThompson
03-02-2010, 10:40 AM
Well, I can't render shit without it going to ass and pixels. I'm pissed! The first render (though gigabytes huge) looks like a stunning masterpiece, while the 50mb render looks like something I'd hang on my fridge...

Michael Anthony Horrigan
03-02-2010, 10:41 AM
What are you using? Drugs aside. :D

No seriously, how are you compressing it?

Bigmagic
03-02-2010, 10:45 AM
Could you slip a singing clown into my film, I think it would make it better!

RodThompson
03-02-2010, 11:31 AM
What are you using? Drugs aside. :D

No seriously, how are you compressing it?

Using QuickTime Pro...and I still can't figure out why the original is bordered like that.

http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/1483/gayj.jpg

Michael Anthony Horrigan
03-02-2010, 11:33 AM
Rod, follow the directions posted HERE (http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showpost.php?p=1911141&postcount=6) in this thread.
Are you exporting from your NLE and then using QT Pro to compress?
Also, is the border there in the original output?

Scott F
03-02-2010, 11:50 AM
Could you slip a singing clown into my film, I think it would make it better!


"Ghost Hunters Inc is a supernatural story of betrayal. But what really puts things over the edge is a bizzare singing clown that appears roughly every thirty seconds or so throughout the film. A must see."

Ben Sliker
03-02-2010, 11:51 AM
rod, use a h.264 .mov instead of a MP4 h.264, in my travels, i've found that the quality is better. Up your video bitrate to like 1050-1100 and lower your audio to 96 kbps.

At 800x450 that should give you a quality boost...

I also am wondering what mike is wondering, looks like your file is letterboxed and pillarboxed.

Rodney V. Smith
03-02-2010, 12:43 PM
Could you slip a singing clown into my film, I think it would make it better!

I'm so NOT gettign out the Clown Costume again.. Horrigan already let me down about it.

Jason Ramsey
03-02-2010, 01:23 PM
Hey, guys. given you an extra bit compression room as a present in exchange for our unfortunate fubaring of the upload deadlines and all...

60megs will be the limit. everything else will be the same. we'll get a link up to where you can upload your films as soon as we can. we'll also be sure and allow ample time for the uploads due to the delay.

Later,
Jason

RodThompson
03-02-2010, 02:18 PM
rod, use a h.264 .mov instead of a MP4 h.264, in my travels, i've found that the quality is better. Up your video bitrate to like 1050-1100 and lower your audio to 96 kbps.

At 800x450 that should give you a quality boost...

I also am wondering what mike is wondering, looks like your file is letterboxed and pillarboxed.

Thanks, guys. I'm exporting out of my NLE at 1280x720 to quicktime, then compressing from Pro. I don't select anything for pillarboxing or anything.

ZazaCast
03-02-2010, 02:42 PM
Goodie... something to do! Back to compression to squeeze every bit of the new 60mb limit.

Marlon Ladd
03-02-2010, 02:52 PM
How long you been sittin' on 50, Zaza?? LOL!!!

ZazaCast
03-02-2010, 02:55 PM
Months! Now with the delay... it may be longer. I was hoping to watch these this weekend, but it's looking like I'll have to wait till NEXT weekend now.

Michael Anthony Horrigan
03-02-2010, 02:57 PM
Months! Now with the delay... it may be longer. I was hoping to watch these this weekend, but it's looking like I'll have to wait till NEXT weekend now.
I better jump in the other thread where Jason is asking for suggestions on the new deadline and suggest April. :evil:

Bigmagic
03-02-2010, 03:15 PM
Oh if we get a week, I'm totally reshooting some interior scenes. I have a feeling we are talking Monday or Tuesday though.

Jason Ramsey
03-02-2010, 03:17 PM
definitely wouldn't be a week. we'd be talking monday at latest. Please see the trhead I started. I added a poll if you'd like to participate. the voting is anonymous.

Later,
Jason

vnguyen972
03-02-2010, 03:44 PM
Rod, follow the directions posted HERE (http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showpost.php?p=1911141&postcount=6) in this thread.
Are you exporting from your NLE and then using QT Pro to compress?
Also, is the border there in the original output?

Export from QT Pro always crews up my video's gamma... too bright and less contrast... I tried to adjust it using "filter" within QT but that preview window is awefully small to tell...

MSpencer
03-02-2010, 03:47 PM
60 YESSSSS... this made my night cause i suck at compression hahaha

Michael Anthony Horrigan
03-02-2010, 03:48 PM
Export from QT Pro always crews up my video's gamma... too bright and less contrast... I tried to adjust it using "filter" within QT but that preview window is awefully small to tell...
I believe there was an issue with that at some point, as well as a fix. Not sure it's needed with the newer versions though.

vnguyen972
03-02-2010, 03:52 PM
I believe there was an issue with that at some point, as well as a fix. Not sure it's needed with the newer versions though.

Yeah I googled for a fix and tried everything... isn't working in my case... it helps a little but not matched what I see in my NLE.

Still looking for a better way...

Scott F
03-02-2010, 06:06 PM
60 YESSSSS... this made my night cause i suck at compression hahaha

Yessir, this is good news.

RodThompson
03-02-2010, 07:08 PM
The h.264 mov comes in at a whopping 265 megs, so thats not an option either...

Damn it all...

vnguyen972
03-02-2010, 07:23 PM
The h.264 mov comes in at a whopping 265 megs, so thats not an option either...

Damn it all...

what bit rate did you have it at? maybe you should lower it... a little more?

Rodney V. Smith
03-02-2010, 07:31 PM
hah! you mean lower it a lot more. I have mine currently set at 1.4. brings it home at 60MB almost exactly

vnguyen972
03-02-2010, 07:43 PM
Mine is at 1.15 and comes out about 58MB

Michael Anthony Horrigan
03-03-2010, 06:01 AM
Rod, what was your bit rate set to?

chriscurl
03-03-2010, 06:05 AM
Rod, my last test was 800x450 with a bit rate 1.3 and I got 60.6MB, so you can see we are all about in the same place with ours. Get there son...

J Davis
03-03-2010, 06:18 AM
1.15, 1.4 bitrates you guys must be using the full 6 minutes !

Film I shot for hoz is coming in at 5min20 secs 720p with a bitrate of 1.5 and its at 58.5 meg

mono 44.1 khz at 96kbps audio though

Michael Anthony Horrigan
03-03-2010, 06:20 AM
I'm coming in at 5min20 secs 720p with a bitrate of 1.5 and its at 58.5 meg

mono 44.1 khz at 96kbps audio thoI would lower the bit rate a tad and get stereo. Sound is just as important.

J Davis
03-03-2010, 08:12 AM
I would lower the bit rate a tad and get stereo. Sound is just as important.

Yes agreed.
But we recorded mono with 1 mic

Michael Anthony Horrigan
03-03-2010, 08:15 AM
Yes agreed.
But we recorded mono with 1 mic
It wasn't a stereo mic? Interesting.

Rodney V. Smith
03-03-2010, 08:20 AM
You can MIX a mono recording into stereo. Didn't you have a sound mixer on the project to balance things out?

ZazaCast
03-03-2010, 08:30 AM
You can MIX a mono recording into stereo. Didn't you have a sound mixer on the project to balance things out?

That would be dual-mono....

Rodney V. Smith
03-03-2010, 08:34 AM
Mono to stereo?

ZazaCast
03-03-2010, 08:38 AM
^right...dual-mono. You can't make a stereo mix out of a mono source.

J Davis
03-03-2010, 09:04 AM
It was a very down and dirty shoot, we used one mono shotgun mic, a rode ntg2.

You can pan the mono a little to the left, then to the right as each actor takes turns speaking but with no stereo background ambience recorded it may draw attention to the fact.

Playback of mono h264 quicktime (or mpeg) is converted to dual mono by any player and IMO sounds ok.

I may still go to 480p (853x480) as I'm still seeing a little too much noise at 720p despite the 1.5mbps bitrate.

SonicStates
03-03-2010, 06:00 PM
I was wondering what resolutions everyone was going to be submitting at...720 or even 480p, hey? I had a chuckle (in an insane, muttering-under-your-breath kind of way) when I rendered my timeline out uncompressed...61gb...
In my case, sound is EXTREMELY important...as you'll see...hear

chriscurl
03-03-2010, 06:16 PM
I was wondering what resolutions everyone was going to be submitting at...720 or even 480p, hey? I had a chuckle (in an insane, muttering-under-your-breath kind of way) when I rendered my timeline out uncompressed...61gb...
In my case, sound is EXTREMELY important...as you'll see...hear

I think I am going with 800x450, I tried 720p but was a mess when brought down to meet the requirements.

RodThompson
03-03-2010, 06:21 PM
Now, when you guys talk about encoding at 720p, how do you denote the HD vice SD. I mean, is it size-based?

I import all of my HD footage from my HV20 via HDV split, and then render out of AE before I drop my scenes into my NLE, so what should I be looking at during the renders? I have read a bunch of tech-jargon-based tutorials on it, but can someone just tell me what I need to know?

Scott F
03-03-2010, 06:22 PM
720X405 for me.

61gb Sonic? What tha????

ZazaCast
03-03-2010, 06:42 PM
900 x 506

Scott F
03-03-2010, 07:16 PM
900 x 506

Oh, an aristocrat, eh?

ZazaCast
03-03-2010, 07:19 PM
no... mine's just bigger than yours! :cool:

MSpencer
03-03-2010, 07:21 PM
i'm exporting out of imovie so..... ;) i used the youtube setting

Scott F
03-03-2010, 07:23 PM
57.6mb. Aside from one flash frame/video hiccup, I think I'm ready to pop the champagne. Ahhhh, it's a Wednesday night, I'm going to bed.

Ben Sliker
03-03-2010, 08:06 PM
846x360 ... going wide.

SonicStates
03-03-2010, 08:10 PM
:kali:
57.6mb. Aside from one flash frame/video hiccup, I think I'm ready to pop the champagne. Ahhhh, it's a Wednesday night, I'm going to bed.

Shut your face :)

SonicStates
03-03-2010, 09:50 PM
Also, I can't remember if this tip was mentioned but as I found the QT movie to be crap, gamma-wise, I searched for a work around. Apologies if this has been posted or there is a better way, but it does the trick for me!
This tip from Mitch Gates does the trick quite nicely:
As you may have noticed, the current implementation of the H.264 compressor for Quicktime has the nasty side-effect of raising the gamma or black levels of the resulting movie file. In order to fix this you must have Quicktime Pro (otherwise the fix will not hold since you can't save the updated .mov). Here are the steps?

Open the QT
Go to "Window/Show Movie Properties"
Select "Video Track", then click the "Visual Settings" tab
At the bottom left, change the transparency to "Blend" then move the slider to 100
Change the transparency to "Straight Alpha"
Close the Movie Properties window, then play or scrub the QT. Your black levels should now look correct
Save over old .mov


From the Macintouch website

vnguyen972
03-03-2010, 10:49 PM
I tried this tip which I found on videocopilot.net but either it improves a little or none to my clip at all.. because I didn't see any difference before and after ...


Also, I can't remember if this tip was mentioned but as I found the QT movie to be crap, gamma-wise, I searched for a work around. Apologies if this has been posted or there is a better way, but it does the trick for me!
This tip from Mitch Gates does the trick quite nicely:
As you may have noticed, the current implementation of the H.264 compressor for Quicktime has the nasty side-effect of raising the gamma or black levels of the resulting movie file. In order to fix this you must have Quicktime Pro (otherwise the fix will not hold since you can't save the updated .mov). Here are the steps?

Open the QT
Go to "Window/Show Movie Properties"
Select "Video Track", then click the "Visual Settings" tab
At the bottom left, change the transparency to "Blend" then move the slider to 100
Change the transparency to "Straight Alpha"
Close the Movie Properties window, then play or scrub the QT. Your black levels should now look correct
Save over old .mov


From the Macintouch website

chriscurl
03-04-2010, 05:53 AM
Does anyone happen to know why I would see one file size when looking at my file on my computer, but if I look at it through an FTP program the size it gives there is several megs smaller? We speculated that the additional size could be a preview file for the OS but maybe one of you guys knows....

namelok
03-04-2010, 06:04 AM
It's quite posible that the size in FTP is shown in bytes and size on your computer in MB (or vice versa). So it will be something like 50.2 MB on your computer and 52,743,644 shown on ftp, which is 52,743,644 bytes

chriscurl
03-04-2010, 06:24 AM
It's quite posible that the size in FTP is shown in bytes and size on your computer in MB (or vice versa). So it will be something like 50.2 MB on your computer and 52,743,644 shown on ftp, which is 52,743,644 bytes


Actually the difference is several megabytes, for instance I made a movie that came out to 60.7 according to my computer, but when i went to FTP it to my website it said that the file was 57.whatever megabytes.

Scott F
03-04-2010, 06:24 AM
:kali:

Shut your face :)


Teeheeheeheehee

J Davis
03-04-2010, 06:28 AM
Does anyone happen to know why I would see one file size when looking at my file on my computer, but if I look at it through an FTP program the size it gives there is several megs smaller? We speculated that the additional size could be a preview file for the OS but maybe one of you guys knows....


This is to do with the block size on your hard drive (or the hard drive that the file is stored on). The file size is rounded up to the nearest block size by the operating system. If you use a specific application to retrieve the file size in bytes then the file size will always be the same.

:)

chriscurl
03-04-2010, 06:32 AM
This is to do with the block size on your hard drive (or the hard drive that the file is stored on). The file size is rounded up to the nearest block size by the operating system. If you use a specific application to retrieve the file size in bytes then the file size will always be the same.

:)


So the lower number is the true file size?

J Davis
03-04-2010, 06:46 AM
So the lower number is the true file size?

yes, but it is also rounded up for that drive (or server that it is on). There should be a little app on your computer that allows you to retrieve exact info. I don't know PC's but on a mac I control click on the file and select 'get info' it tells me the exact file size.

chriscurl
03-04-2010, 07:01 AM
yes, but it is also rounded up for that drive (or server that it is on). There should be a little app on your computer that allows you to retrieve exact info. I don't know PC's but on a mac I control click on the file and select 'get info' it tells me the exact file size.


I use macs as well and the "get info" number is the higher of the two for me. It's not a big deal, I was just curious. I have attached a screenshot showing the difference.

http://projectc75.com/al/ftp.jpg

J Davis
03-04-2010, 08:08 AM
Remember there are 1048576 bytes in a megabyte LINK (http://www.google.com/search?q=bytes+in+a+megabyte&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a)
If you divide your 607....etc number in your screenshot by 1048576 it should work out :)

What I was talking about earlier with rounding up to block size is usually only applicable to smaller files and only really noticeable
when you see a small file on a large capacity drive. I probably should not have mentioned it as it doesn't really come into play with large video files!

If you see my attached pic a 523 byte file takes up 4k of space on a drive with 500 gig size.
Similarly a 2 meg file might be rounded up if it were sitting on a two terrabyte drive (I don't have a two terrabyte drive to test!)

chriscurl
03-04-2010, 08:14 AM
Remember there are 1048576 bytes in a megabyte LINK (http://www.google.com/search?q=bytes+in+a+megabyte&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&aq=t&rls=org.mozilla:en-US:official&client=firefox-a)
If you divide your 607....etc number in your screenshot by 1048576 it should work out :)

What I was talking about earlier with rounding up to block size is usually only applicable to smaller files and only really noticeable
when you see a small file on a large capacity drive. see my attached pic


Damn that's confusing. I hate numbers.

J Davis
03-04-2010, 08:20 AM
Damn that's confusing. I hate numbers.

Yeh, please ignore the math/science geek in me, making films is much more fun !

SonicStates
03-05-2010, 02:06 AM
I tried this tip which I found on videocopilot.net but either it improves a little or none to my clip at all.. because I didn't see any difference before and after ...

Man, that's a shame. It is literally like night and day for me (from what I can tell so far)

Rodney V. Smith
03-05-2010, 02:12 PM
sucks dont it? One of mine came out at 134MB after the initial claim that it shoudl estimate 59MB...

Luis_
03-06-2010, 11:50 AM
ok hold on... I'm still in a jamb here...
Does anyone have a workflow from Premiere Pro, so that I can export this thing correctly?
I'm on CS4 and Vista and these are my options:

http://i279.photobucket.com/albums/kk157/lcosme00/Encoder.jpg