PDA

View Full Version : business releases and supersize me

Arcburn
06-26-2004, 11:55 PM
Hi

I am planning on making a documentary. I know that I probably need release forms for any businesses I film in. Specifically clubs and bars.

My question is this.

The guy that made "Supersize Me". He filmed in many Mcdonalds and used the footage in his film that has a nationwide theatrical release. How has he done this. I doubt Mcdonalds signed any releases for him.

I need to know. I want to film in bars but as the film will not be very pro on the subject, I doubt I will get many permissions.

Can I film until I am thrown out and still use the footage?

I hope someone can help.

Thanks in Advance

A

Josh_Boelter
06-28-2004, 06:13 AM
I'm not a lawyer, so don't quote me, but I'm guessing Spurlock had permission from individual McDonald's franchise owners to shoot inside those restaurants. Also, with documentaries, the rules are more relaxed than with traditional features. You might want to pick up a copy of Clearance & Copyright: Everything the Independent Filmmaker Needs to Know by Michael C Donaldson http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/1879505304/qid=1088428300/sr=8-1/ref=sr_8_xs_ap_i1_xgl14/104-6159564-4583158?v=glance&s=books&n=507846

Sharp-Shooter
06-28-2004, 07:42 AM
I am sailing in the same boat, most of my documentary subjects involve shooting in public places, stores and restaurants and am always wondering about the permit and "release" issue,. pls keep us posted here after you have found your answers, I am sure it would be quite helpful for most film-makers here.
Good Luck & Thanks!

Arcburn
06-28-2004, 09:42 AM
Thanks for the response Josh. I will definately check out that book.

Sharp I will keep you informed if I find anything out.

Thanks

A

07-09-2004, 01:00 AM
Hi there,

browsed past and thought i'll drop my 2 cents.