PDA

View Full Version : Current DVX Docs in Production

Anthony_Gilmore
12-10-2004, 01:47 AM
Well, I've been shooting a doc in Korea with the DVX for a few months now. I'm curious what other stories are in production with the DVX. It would be nice to see what other DVX Users are shooting and what stories are being told with the camera :)

Best of luck with all your Documentaries!

sojrn
12-11-2004, 06:29 PM
We're in preproduction on a civil rights era documentary from the perspective of small town newspaper in the southern United States. *All interviews and re-creations will be shot on the DVX100A in 24P advanced mode. *:)

Erik Olson
12-13-2004, 07:51 AM
We wrapped principal photography on a 24 minute documentary detailing an overland trek to Central America with footage shot in Texas, Mexico, Belize and Guatemala. All acquisition was done with the 100a in 30p.

http://www.expeditionfilmpartners.com/video/ea04_teaser.wmv

This is a really terrible edit that I assembled to guide our real editor as he starts cutting in San Francisco. The music is placeholder stuff only as we're having original stuff recorded on the left coast concurrently.

I'm going to do some studio shot pick-ups, intros and bumps - otherwise we're close to cutting this thing for real. The 100a was really great except for a few condensation issues in Texas. Ahh, Brownsville in the summertime... I can't wait to never go back.

e

pixel
12-15-2004, 05:47 PM
I'm using the DVX100 at 30p on a film (Hidden in the Heartland) about polygamy in a remote town in the Southwest. We've been filming for a year, and the final 90 min. edit is almost done (FCP).

30p has been a real challenge because it requires manual focus and iris control. Since we're doing this with hidden cameras and chasing elusive footage (women & children on the streets), it's tough sometimes to get anything on film, let alone adjust exposure and focus. But the "look" is quite good.