PDA

View Full Version : 720/59.94p



GrahamH
02-17-2010, 09:38 AM
I have a problem presently where I ask Adobe Media Encoder (CS4.2) to export my 720P footage as a 720P59.94 Cineform avi, and the resulting clip ends up with a 60.00 framerate.

When I asked about this on a CS4 forum, I got told the response was the camera actually shoots 720p60.00, and AME must be misidentifying the clip as interlaced.

That makes no sense to me -- that comment is not correct, is it????

Also, has anyone else experienced this framerate issue with AME?

PDR
02-17-2010, 11:44 AM
Most definitely the hardware records 59.94 (actually it's 60000/1001 , 59.94 is an approximation)

In AME there is an option to select 59.94 or 60 for the frame rate in the export options , just double check you selected the correct one

GrahamH
02-17-2010, 12:02 PM
I double and triple checked the setting - 59.94 was definitely selected as the export option. I'm stumped, presently - I've resorted to using 3rd-party software to reset teh framerate, but obviously not ideal longterm.

PDR
02-17-2010, 12:17 PM
Describe your workflow exactly. Are you opening the cineform avi in AME, or through PP CS4 first? If PP CS4, what were your sequence settings?

What happens if you export another format e.g. uncompressed AVI, or lagarith AVI - what is the frame rate?

GrahamH
02-17-2010, 09:06 PM
Hmmm ... this may be a Cineform thing. If I drop a file into AME and specify 'Microsoft avi' or 'Uncompressed' and 59.94, then I get a 59.94 file.

But if I specify 'Cineform avi' I get 60.00. Very strange. I've posted a query to the Cineform forum.

PDR
02-17-2010, 09:07 PM
How are you determining the frame rate?

GrahamH
02-17-2010, 09:10 PM
Looking at 'File information" in Virtualdub ... also, its what Premiere CS4 reports when I import the file into it.

PDR
02-17-2010, 09:12 PM
It can't be *only* cineform's fault, because you encoded to cineform first, which had the correct frame rate. Then, you encoded that CFHD .avi in AME to another CHFD .avi. So the screwup is likely somewhere along AME's integration with cineform's VFW interface

If you re-import that 2nd file into PP , does it say 60.0 FPS as well? (ie. could vdub be misreading it?)