PDA

View Full Version : Something better than what I got...

CaptainMench
11-09-2004, 06:46 PM
I'm trying to create a 3D panel that sits infront of the subject to punch up words that will appear over head. I've only been messing around for a little bit, but the best I could come up with was adding a new solid, lowering opacity, and tilting in 3D space.

I was hip enough to add little flashes when typing on this panel, but it does look like it took me all of 5 minutes... which it did.

I've got some plugins... Zackworks too. 6.0Pro.

Any thoughts on creating something all in AE -- maybe even an hour's worth of work!!??

Thanks

CaptM

CaptainMench
11-09-2004, 09:05 PM
This is the first few seconds. *Remember!!!

I'm new to AE!!! *BE GENTLE! (you all started somewhere, right?)

Filmed in my hallway when I came home from work. I'll work on the keying when I figure out how to do this for real!!

http://homepage.mac.com/captmench/AEProject.mov

Thanks

CaptM

Bill_Bolton
11-09-2004, 09:29 PM
I know this is not what you wanted to hear, but for 3D, I use a 3D program like Lightwave and use the power of AE for the compositing. To me, 3D in Lightwave is easier than faking it in AE.

CaptainMench
11-09-2004, 10:10 PM
Thanks, Bill -- I'll try that. I've got Blender... can't use it either. But I'll give it a shot.

Thanks again.

CaptM

TC
11-10-2004, 11:53 PM
I don't know if Lightwave has a demo. But Maya has the Personal Learning Edition. Might want to check that out.

CaptainMench
11-11-2004, 06:47 AM
Ended up drawing a rounded off rectangle in Illustrator and then bringing it into AE and using Zaxworks on it.

My 4 year old thought I was George Lucas!

Damn, I'm good!

Thanks everyone.

CaptM

hawks66
11-11-2004, 10:17 AM
thats not bad. perhaps put a glow or some kind of stroke around the alpha of the layers you have up. like the red rectangle and each of the video squares?

CaptainMench
11-11-2004, 11:41 PM
Ok -- I worked out some of the keying problems.

Two others...