PDA

View Full Version : My Canon 7D review



twocik23
01-01-2010, 07:57 PM
Got my 7D the other day and I'm a bit WOWd !!! I was expecting really compressed video, but it's actually not that bad. I'm really impressed with the features vs the D90 and love that the VF displays real time exposure. I also purchased the L serious 35mm F1.4, 17mm - 40mm f4 L series lenses, and one EF 70mm - 300mm f4 lens. Tested all and my favorite so far is the 35mm F1.4 for low light. I'm going to put this camera thru a serious of test in a few weeks and see which of the two HVX200a + Letus & Canon 7D comes out on top. Then will be selling one of the setups.


However the problem I have now is that I need a new tower computer or higher res monitor. Currently using an old G5 dual 2.0 ghz mac and two apple 19" 1680 x 1050 monitors. The video is a bit jerky when viewing in QT, but I'm sure it will be ok in FCP for now.


If anyone is selling a newer Mac Pro Tower at an affordable price (not the 3.0 version), pm me.

Jester2138
01-01-2010, 11:05 PM
You'd need a supercomputer to edit raw H.264 1080p.

mystudionet
01-01-2010, 11:26 PM
what kind of super computer?im planning to get imac quad core i7-8gb..is that good for finalcutstudio 2?

USLatin
01-02-2010, 12:15 AM
All you need is the neoscene app to convert the footage.

I think this is it: http://www.cineform.com/neoscene/

There is a very small drop in sharpness but the files will edit real time on almost any computer.

Barry_Green
01-02-2010, 12:46 AM
You'd need a supercomputer to edit raw H.264 1080p.
Or a simple dual-core laptop with a fast graphics card, and software that takes advantage of the graphics card's horsepower for the codec. You can even edit in realtime on a more modest computer if you use something like EDIUS Neo with the AVCHD Booster add-on.

twocik23
01-03-2010, 09:58 PM
So do you think a newer model of the Mac Pro, say anything from the 2.6 Ghz quad core would work with a 512mb GC + 30" Apple Monitor ?




"All you need is the neoscene app to convert the footage.

I think this is it: http://www.cineform.com/neoscene/

There is a very small drop in sharpness but the files will edit real time on almost any computer."



Hmmmm great idea, but $500 is a bit expensive.

.

Ted Ramasola
01-03-2010, 11:52 PM
twocik23,

Im using core 2 quad with edius.

ronscuba
01-04-2010, 06:37 AM
So do you think a newer model of the Mac Pro, say anything from the 2.6 Ghz quad core would work with a 512mb GC + 30" Apple Monitor ?




"All you need is the neoscene app to convert the footage.

I think this is it: http://www.cineform.com/neoscene/

There is a very small drop in sharpness but the files will edit real time on almost any computer."



Hmmmm great idea, but $500 is a bit expensive.

.

Neoscene costs $129 purchased direct from Cinemform, or $100 at videoguys.

mcgeedigital
01-04-2010, 07:18 AM
So do you think a newer model of the Mac Pro, say anything from the 2.6 Ghz quad core would work with a 512mb GC + 30" Apple Monitor ?




"All you need is the neoscene app to convert the footage.

I think this is it: http://www.cineform.com/neoscene/

There is a very small drop in sharpness but the files will edit real time on almost any computer."



Hmmmm great idea, but $500 is a bit expensive.

.

That Mac Pro would be fine.

You don't need NeoScene.

Use Compressor or Mpeg Streamclip.

twocik23
01-10-2010, 01:54 AM
Ok well after playing around tying to get these clips to play properly, I think I got it. I found this TUT on youtube (below) and now everyone of my clips play fine on my old G5. The only problem is the media manger recompress workflow, wow takes awhile.

Is there any other way to fix this issue without the recompressing long workflow ?


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vpzB6Q40d2k&feature=player_embedded#

USLatin
01-10-2010, 02:37 AM
http://www.cineform.com/neoscene/

Hmmmm great idea, but $500 is a bit expensive.


Take a closer look. It is $129, look on the right side of the page. You don't need their full software, just NeoScene.

Here is the purchase page: http://estore.cineform.com/neoscenev1winormac.aspx (http://estore.cineform.com/index.aspx) (second one on the left)

But read for yourself. If you buy the wrong thing ain't my fault.

Bertholt4
01-10-2010, 03:03 AM
Hey Barry - which grafik-card would you recommend for editing with EdiusNeo2 with AVCHD-Booster? Is there any list of supported cards?

Would a new MacBookPro (17er) with Geforce Card be good, when using with XP and Edius Neo?

Thank You

docrock
01-10-2010, 03:37 PM
Bertholt,

I can't speak for Barry (but I believe he is a PC editor, don't quote me though;))....but the computer you are talking about from Apple (The 17" MBP with Nvidia Graphics, right?) is going to be more than adequate....as will any PC with Core2Duo or i3, 5, or 7 chips, decent RAM, HardDrive, and Graphics.

If you're buying a new computer, of decent spec, you'll be able to edit your footage.

That said, there are worfkflow steps to take to make your life easier, regardless of which workstation you decide to use (Windows or PC). I am a Mac user and utilize FCP for my editing chores. As mentioned earlier, if you have Final Cut Studio, you also have a suite of programs, including Compressor. It'll do the same thing as Cineform. No need for redundancy. IF, you don't own FCP (It's a thousand bucks, so it's not cheap), Cineform is an excellent way to get your footage to an editing friendly format at a hundred clams. It also works on both platforms PC and Mac.

Again, I'm a Mac guy, but I spent 20 years with PCs....I'm not sure exactly where Windows 7, the latest ATI/NVidia chips, and their "Fundamental" integration with the software makers is at this point....in order to take advantage of off-loading or sharing the workload between the CPU and GPU. In Mac-Land, Snow Leopard is written with Grand Central in mind and, hopefully, the future will be filled with 64bit and GPU utilizing applications....but the future is not totally here yet;)

Point is, I wouldn't worry about GPU (Graphics Cards) right now. You are somewhat limited going with a laptop anyway...as you'll have to settle for the "Mobile" version of most of these high end desktop cards. Problem is, on the Windows side...the more powerful the GPU tends to reflect directly on shortened battery life...sometimes so you only have an hour or two without AC power.

Mac's big laptop, the 17 will still give you close to 7 hours of battery life and I believe the option to choose between Power and Stamina (Two different cards, integrated and separate GPUs to choose). I believe some PCs also have this option these days.

IMO...if you have FCP (The Pro/Studio version), you'd be best served with a Mac. If not, you have plenty of choices, especially if you're not schooled on FCP and how to use it!

Good Luck

Jer

twocik23
01-10-2010, 09:34 PM
USLatin - Thank you for the heads up again, but if you look even closer it's only for intel macs, I'm running an old powerPC G5. I'm just trying to find a quicker way to convert this footage without having to buy anything else for this computer. We're eventually going with a brand new Mac setup, but waiting to see if they're going to put out another Mac Pro tower before we buy anything or buy a used computer to hold us over until.

Tim Kay
01-12-2010, 08:43 PM
MPEG streamclip works great - plus it doesn't cost a fortune (wait, it doesn't cost anything!)
The only thing is that it makes your files 4x the size. Some have had luck using dedicated h264 video cards. Not sure how they do it, but I know on my mac I can't

twocik23
01-13-2010, 01:10 AM
Tim are you losing any quality converting them ? Have a screen grab of how you're exporting them ?