PDA

View Full Version : handheld

Lake Films
12-05-2009, 08:01 AM
Hey guys,
With my GH1 on its way, I'm thinking about what handheld system to get. "Indie system" seems to have great prices as well as the equipment. But, I have no experience with a DSLR rig yet. Any advice on what system you guys use/recommend?

PS: I plan on possibly adding the HFn and maybe a wireless receiver to the rig.

Thank you!

Stephen Mick
12-05-2009, 08:19 AM
Others will disagree, no doubt, and there are budget/value options out there, but for truly "handheld" use, I found the GH1 (and 7D) near-useless without Zacuto's Z-Finder for starters. Even with the GH1's articulating screen, something like the Z-Finder adds a point of contact between you and the camera, creating a more stable shooting "platform."

Beyond that, a lot of it comes down to personal choice. I've got (and really like) the Zacuto Tactical Shooter for "body-stabilized" HDSLR shooting. Again, it's expensive, but it also breaks down for easy travel (important for my needs). I also have a Varizoom DV Media Rig shoulder mount. I use it more for my EX1, but it certainly can (and will) work for a GH1 or 7D. Another good thing about a system like this is the support rod and belt. These cameras aren't heavy, but they really requre you to work in manual mode. Having the support rod takes so much of the weight out of your hands, that it makes it easy to adjust focus, zoom and other controls.

The IndieSystem looks nice. Just remember, with any system, you'll want to make sure it can accommodate additional mounts for your Zoom (or whatever) and your wireless receiver. Best thing to do is email IndiSystem (Studio 4) to see what they think the best options might be.

tflak
12-05-2009, 10:03 AM