PDA

View Full Version : Photo Queries



Psynema
11-27-2009, 07:17 AM
Just tryin' to see how well the GH1 can hold up as a pro photo cam (a backup cam at least)

But anyways

I can't get iPhoto to import the raws - anyone know a workaround? Is it a camera setting or something?

FLASHES - what's the best flash for this? I want to go Canon soon, so anyone try Canon's line of flashes on the GH1 - how well does it work or would it have to be more manual sort of thing?

dvbrother
11-27-2009, 07:52 AM
The GH1 shipped with a DVD that included Silkypix, which is a RAW developing software program. The manual for it is hilarious, as it's obviously written by someone in Japan with little grasp of the English language, but the program itself is kind of cool. This is how I've been dealing with my RAW photos.

nobbystylus
11-27-2009, 08:01 AM
Siklypix is functional but a bit awkward for me. Lightroom apparently has RAW support for GH1 RAW files. Hopefully apple will catch up and do the same for iphoto.

Psynema
11-27-2009, 08:02 AM
The GH1 shipped with a DVD that included Silkypix, which is a RAW developing software program. The manual for it is hilarious, as it's obviously written by someone in Japan with little grasp of the English language, but the program itself is kind of cool. This is how I've been dealing with my RAW photos.

PC Only...it said MacIntosh for something on the disc but my mac spits the disc out without it loading.

Right now I've been looking at JPegs only and curious to see how much better the Raws are.

Hopin' to find a somewhat higher end/commissioned photo gallery from the GH1 somewheres to show it's more than just a fancy soccer camera

William_Robinette
11-27-2009, 08:30 AM
Lightroom 3 public Beta supports GH1 files if I'm not mistaken.

And Lightroom rocks.

AdrianF
11-28-2009, 01:12 AM
Camera Raw and Lightroom do support GH1 files on the mac. The Silkypix software included on the disc is Mac compatible, maybe you've got a dodgy disc or something? It's a bit strange to use, but I quite like the conversions.

larrys
11-28-2009, 11:13 AM
What about Aperture, does it support GH1 raw?

tflak
11-28-2009, 03:59 PM
No

cowpunk52
11-28-2009, 07:04 PM
RAW is the way to go - you'll be able to pull a surprising amount of detail out of your RAW files and get greater DR than from jpg's. I sell a lot for stock, and I used to shoot with the Canon 5D, but now I'm pretty much exclusively on the GH1. The smaller size and weight really helps a lot because I travel and hike for shoots all the time.

As far as flash goes, a Canon flash will fire in manual mode, but E-TTL is Canon specific and will only work on Canon cameras.

It's really amazing to me what I can get out of such a tiny package. These were all shot with the kit lens, with the exception of #4 - that one is the 20/1.7

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2713/4104618456_c4408e1f42.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2439/3838974122_b4cfce89fe.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2609/4093690902_e605abbc73.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2440/4043948506_d4a48bf67b.jpg

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2659/3840928433_941b3d3d52.jpg

swyzlstyx
11-29-2009, 09:10 AM
I'm using Photoshop Elements 7 on a PC with my GH1 RAW files...works great for me.

But yeah, I think if you get a Canon flash, you'll want to use it in manual mode. I'm using my Olympus FL-50R with the GH1, and it works great. Panasonic sells the same flashes as Olympus, just rebranded, but the FL50R is really expensive. Don't bother with the smaller FL-20 (or whatever Panny calls their version). It's WEAK, and for the price, you could get a full TTL aftermarker brand. I think "Metz" makes one for 4/3 that should work?

If you want REAL cheap, I like my Sunpak 383 manual flash...I use it on my 35mm SLR's. But having TTL on a digital camera is nice...for me it's one of the reasons I pay so much for digital....the convenience "auto" features bring me. ;)

I haven't used the GH1 for any paid photo gigs...and probably wouldn't think of it. I don't think it's built well enough to handle one gig. Video is no problem, but I shoot entirely tripod for video. Handheld/photography...I think the camera would fall apart after a couple of hours.

Good luck!

tflak
11-30-2009, 07:56 AM
Handheld/photography...I think the camera would fall apart after a couple of hours.

Gee...mine is still together after a couple of hours. You must be really hard on stuff. :)

swyzlstyx
11-30-2009, 09:55 AM
Gee...mine is still together after a couple of hours. You must be really hard on stuff. :)


Are you doing professional photo shoots, weddings, etc? ;)

Mine is holding up well for personal photography and full time wedding videographer, but it's much easier to baby the camera that way.

I've photographed a few weddings, and am not real hard on gear, but I think the GH1 wouldn't last long. Strap rivets, hot shoe, lens mount, memory card door, knobs and switches....the whole body in general just isn't "heavy duty" IMHO, and I don't think it was intended for that kind of use in the first place. But, it takes great pictures and shoots great video....perfect for indie film-makers and taking pictures of my cats. Just make sure to carry a spare on paid gigs! :)

tflak
11-30-2009, 11:10 AM
Are you doing professional photo shoots, weddings, etc? ;)


I'm not a professional photographer, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn where a wedding reception was being held. :)

Seriously, stating you think it would fall apart after just a couple of hours is mere conjecture on your part and is more than a bit of an exaggeration. If that were the case, the GH1 would have a terrible rep. Admittedly, it may not compare to the build quality of some other cameras, but it's certainly no piece of junk.

Martti Ekstrand
11-30-2009, 12:27 PM
Handheld/photography...I think the camera would fall apart after a couple of hours.

If this was true then my GH1 wouldn't have lasted 24 hours since I went out half drunk and did this on the very first night I got it. All handheld.

http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=175134

And after this one it should have been totally shredded. Had no time to particularly 'baby' the camera on this paid gig. Just used it as a normal piece of equipment.

http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=186392

And yes, before you ask me, I am a professional film maker for 30+ years :beer:

sam rides a mtb
11-30-2009, 04:44 PM
heres a couple photos:
http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=183036&page=8

more at:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/sol_rider/

Psynema
12-01-2009, 01:03 PM
Anyone try that Metz 100 flash for panasonic?

Would be nice to have a TTL communication with the Gh1 but, not shelling out $500 for a Panny flash, only Canon.

I'll prolly' just get a Canon 540 and a Vivitar 285HV