PDA

View Full Version : GH1 extra low light (Higher then 1600iso) workaround



Bishaway
11-25-2009, 03:18 AM
Hi Guys

Someone recently found an extra feature that allows to push the ISO higher then 1600, I have tested this and also several others have tested it both on PAL and NTSC models.

Here is the steps,

1. In 1080 or 720p Full HD Mode Set the dial to movie mode BUT
2. Go into the menu and set MOVIE EXPOSURE MODE to S (Shutter Priority)
3. in dim lighting and set your ISO to 1600. Now push the dial in and turn (it will select the exposure meter)- YOU'RE NOW ABLE to lower the shutter speed below 1/30th of a second to 1/4th of a second

KICKER - it DOES NOT BLUR or give slow shutter streaks...I have no clue what's going on but it's almost like it's tricking the ISO to go higher, but the thing is at 1600 ISO , going from shutter 1/30 to 1/4 takes you well beyond the 3200 ISO listed as the Lumix Max.

Tested both adapter lens and stock lens (note that on stock lens it will not show different shutter speeds but keep rotating and you'll see at the end it will increase the actual exposure.

And to clarify I HAVE THE DIAL SET TO MOVIE MODE (S mode is set in the menu). I see it get brighter as I rotate the dial

Another benefit found: Works at any ISO so this is actually good to have during the camera is recording as you can only change ISO in stop mode or if you are in total auto and the camera decides.

3 stops of extra light, so at 1/6 is the first increase up to 1/4th.

Would love to know if anyone can tell me if this is a happy accident Panny let slip through their software or if I'm missing something cuz' I have no clue what's actually doing this since it's def. not a true 1/4th shutter since there's no streaks, but gives you the EV value of using one and the ISO is capped at 3200 (1600 for video ) according to the manual/menus. So going 1/30 of a second at ISO 1600 to 1/4th of a second gives you 12000 ISO (but I am assuming its actually just 3200ISO)

Happy GH1 filming

Osslund
11-25-2009, 03:32 AM
It sounds like an ISO boost. Does it look noisy?

Martti Ekstrand
11-25-2009, 03:35 AM
Someone? It was Psynema in this thread:

http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=191407

Bishaway
11-25-2009, 03:36 AM
It sounds like an ISO boost. Does it look noisy?

Yes it is but the video mode only allows up to 1600 but now you can keep pushing it further, I haven't done heaps of comparison but by eye seems like about the same noise as 1600

Bishaway
11-25-2009, 03:37 AM
Someone? It was Psynema in this thread:

http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showthread.php?t=191407

Cool yeah that's the name I was told on another forum but wasn't sure it was on this forum..so I thought better post

adys
11-25-2009, 03:41 AM
From what I tested so far, 800 is the top to shoot 1080 in this camera.

Behind that , look too noisy.

Bishaway
11-25-2009, 03:48 AM
From what I tested so far, 800 is the top to shoot 1080 in this camera.

Behind that , look too noisy.

Yep I never go past that, but if need at least its good to know its available and I do like the fact if I do want to quickly push the ISO up by 3 stops (ie 100 to 200) when lets say I am filming a speech in a venue and suddenly some one turns the light down/off then I can do a quick dial without having to stop recording.

Psynema
11-25-2009, 05:03 AM
Yep I found that out only days after getting the camera :Drogar-BigGrin(DBG)

It doesn't look all that noisy so long as there's light - ie if it looks well exposed on the viewfinder at 1600 ISO then you'll get a good image - I just did some night test shots - looks fine so long as there's a decent exposure.

The cool part is AT NIGHT (albeit in a city with street lights) I put my Asahi 1.4 lens to F4 and still got a usable image and if you're in bright street light, 5.6 is possible (though 95 percent of the time you won't have enough light - and yes it's a bit noisy) but try it out on your kit lenses - if you see street lights outside you can now probably get usable/passable footage from the kit lens at night in a city or suburban strip mall etc.

bumkicho
11-25-2009, 01:01 PM
It is indeed a GREAT finding, Psynema. And thank you, Bishaway, for posting this up. I almost missed on the thread Psynema started.

Bishaway
11-25-2009, 02:03 PM
Yep I found that out only days after getting the camera :Drogar-BigGrin(DBG)

It doesn't look all that noisy so long as there's light - ie if it looks well exposed on the viewfinder at 1600 ISO then you'll get a good image - I just did some night test shots - looks fine so long as there's a decent exposure.

The cool part is AT NIGHT (albeit in a city with street lights) I put my Asahi 1.4 lens to F4 and still got a usable image and if you're in bright street light, 5.6 is possible (though 95 percent of the time you won't have enough light - and yes it's a bit noisy) but try it out on your kit lenses - if you see street lights outside you can now probably get usable/passable footage from the kit lens at night in a city or suburban strip mall etc.

Nice find!! I am quiet pleased the if I am shooting stock lens I can still get some footage.

You can also use something like Neat Video to reduce the noise as well in post which will make the footage quiet acceptable.

thisisapocalypse
11-25-2009, 02:04 PM
Iif I do want to quickly push the ISO up by 3 stops (ie 100 to 200)

ISO 100 to 200 is one stop.

Barry_Green
11-25-2009, 05:09 PM
Right, doubling the ISO results in a one-stop sensitivity increase.

The camera lets you choose to adjust the ISO in 1/3-stop increments (hence the 100-125-160-200 progression) but it's still only one stop to go from 100 to 200.

Ozpeter
11-26-2009, 02:29 AM
Sounds similar to something Commanderspike reported some weeks ago, but that involved upping exposure compensation with a similar result.

Pelerino
11-26-2009, 03:37 AM
I noticed this when I got it although it has got better. If this is possible why isn't it standard?

Bishaway
11-27-2009, 02:22 PM
Right, doubling the ISO results in a one-stop sensitivity increase.

The camera lets you choose to adjust the ISO in 1/3-stop increments (hence the 100-125-160-200 progression) but it's still only one stop to go from 100 to 200.

Thanks for the correction, I should have said 3 increments.

dvbrother
11-27-2009, 02:47 PM
So, to be clear, this newly discovered method of ISO boost results in 3200 ISO. Don't be fooled by the 1/4 shutter speed. The increases in ISO only happen at 1/6, 1/5, and 1/4. 3 bumps in 1/3 stop increments for a total of one stop. So one stop more than 1600 ISO is 3200 ISO.

adys
11-27-2009, 07:47 PM
In my camera I can't do that.

Maybe firmware 1.2 you can't do it?

MR Fanny
11-29-2009, 04:10 AM
In my camera I can't do that.

Maybe firmware 1.2 you can't do it?

If you are shooting with stock lens works but will not show 1/4th shutter, only 1/30th. I don't find use for it on a stock lens, its when you put a faster lens on that this trick is quite handy.