PDA

View Full Version : Advice for GH1/DSLR beginner!

asteele10
11-13-2009, 12:34 AM
I just up grated to the GH1. I'm starting production for my final student project video this Saturday. I'm new to this camera and just wanted to know if anyone could give me some basic begginer advice (or a link to this).

For example: What things should I watch out for? Commonly made noob mistakes? What settings to avoid? Etc.

I want a real vibrant an crisp image. I wanna shoot on 1080 24p right? I prefer the 30f/s but it dosent have it at 1080.

Whats the best settings for low light to avoid noise?

Any advice in general would help!! Thanks!

kiguar
11-13-2009, 12:37 AM
Here are some shooting tips.
link (http://www.luminous-landscape.com/reviews/cameras/gh1.shtml)

AdrianF
11-13-2009, 02:09 AM
The threads in the workflow section by JDS and the Luminous Landscape reviews are quite good places to look. That and just searching this forum should give you quite a good head start. Good luck!

rawmeyn
11-13-2009, 02:36 AM
check this link too http://www.hotrodcameras.com/2009/09/07/quickstart-gh1/

asteele10
11-13-2009, 07:55 AM
Thanks for the help. Keep it coming! I want to shoot most of my film in 1080 to get a better look. But for some motion shots I was going to use 720 to avoid the motion tracking/blur that you get in 1080. Would there be any problems with this? Would the 2 shots look noticeably different?

Also, I was thinking of using my DVX and a boom mic to record sound on to a DV tape while filming with the GH1. Would this work? Thanks again

Ben_B
11-13-2009, 10:06 AM
With 1080p mode you will need to remove the pulldown (see stickies in post section) to get it to work in post. 720p on the Gh1 is 60p (or 30p for motion jpeg) if you shoot AVCHD which is 60p you can convert it to 24p in post pretty easily. I don't know what you were saying about blur, etc...24p looks great, its what films are shot at...

asteele10
11-13-2009, 10:41 PM