PDA

View Full Version : FF35 scarlet question



GangasCon
11-05-2009, 12:59 PM
Hi,

If (and that's a big 'IF') I somehow manage to scrape together enough cash for an FF35 scarlet will my wonderful collection of manual focus primes work on it?

I've been told they won't work on the 1D or 5DmkII because the rear optical elements will interfere with the camera's mirror. Of course I could always shave the mirror but it's a risky endeavor.

However, I imagine the FF35 scarlet isn't a real SLR camera, therefore it doesn't have a mirror. (Sort of like the GH1). Therefore because there aren't any mirrors to interfere with, my manual focus primes should work okay right?

Barry_Green
11-05-2009, 03:31 PM
No possible way to answer this yet. We don't know anything truly about what the Scarlet will be, so check back in on November 30th when they make their next announcement.

hdimages.ca
11-05-2009, 04:46 PM
the canon mount will be full electronic lens control so auto primes can be used ( no auto focus but electronic controls) i have been collecting my fast canon prime set for my 5d m2 and will be set up by the time the scarlet is ready. now have the 14mm fisheye -50mm 1.4- 85mm 1.8 100mm 2.8 macro- 200 l 2.8 - 300 2.8 - looking for - 16 to 35 ll 2.8 or 24mm 1.4 or 35mm 1.4 . that will be my set.

Barry_Green
11-05-2009, 07:20 PM
At this point, we don't even know that there will BE a Canon mount. It seems like a reasonable guess, but they have repeatedly said that "everything's changed", so don't count on anything that's been said before.