PDA

View Full Version : NTSC/PAL Switching?



Lembo
10-11-2009, 11:53 PM
Im looking at purchasing a hmc150 from USA.
However i live in Australia and our region is PAL.
Just wondering If the HMC150 can be switched between NTSC and PAL?

Regards, Chris.

RaviSun3D
10-12-2009, 03:46 AM
HMC150 is only NTSC, for USA.

However, for Australia, there is a PAL version HMC152.
And if you want PAL/NTSC switchable, then go for HMC151 which is for Europe.

Exact
10-14-2009, 03:49 PM
Im looking at purchasing a hmc150 from USA.
However i live in Australia and our region is PAL.
Just wondering If the HMC150 can be switched between NTSC and PAL?
Regards, Chris.

This is something I had wondered about too. Like most people I looked at the price in the US and thought about how to save some money.

Then I realised that the US model was NTSC only - bummer.

After a little more searching I found could get an HMC152 cheaper than the HMC151, but despite the retailer claiming the 152 was the 'same' as as a 151 I soon realised that the 152 was PAL only.

In the end I spent the extra cash on an official Panasonic imported HMC151 with 3 year warranty that can do both NTSC and PAL (24p,25p,30p, 720/60p, 1080/50i, 1080/60i) and I am really glad I did.

I paid about $3850 in the UK (at current --> $ exchange rates), which although it's about $300 more than B&H, by the time shipping to the UK was added it's really not much difference - and I got both shooting modes instead of just one - and a 3 year warranty in the UK - which would not have been the case buying from B&H or other US supplier. Glad I did the research before jumping in with hard cash.

Being in Australia it may not be such an easy decision.

dont70
10-20-2009, 12:13 AM
Does anyone know if the difference between the different models is hardware or firmware based. I am using a 152 and was wondering if there was a hack to convert it to a 151.

Barry_Green
10-20-2009, 09:31 AM
There is no provision to turn a 152 into a 151.