PDA

View Full Version : GH1 workflow on a Mac

Ivan Lee
10-05-2009, 12:42 AM
Hey guys, I'm new here... Maybe my GH1 will arrive from BH this week (I'm think I will be the first in Brazil to own a GH1...)

Well, I've always been a DP but I'm kinda newbie in editing... but I had some FCP classes at college and we always use FCP to edit our films (in HD and 35mm)
I also have a FCP 6 Academic on my Mac Book, but never used much...

Now with the arrive of my GH1, I just don't know where to start... I SWEAR I searched all this forum for answers...but the discussions are on a very high level...

So, making simple... what do I need? Sony Vegas is too expensive to me right now... so I think I'll stick with Mac and FCP...

I see you talking about Neoscene, pulldown removal (I still don't know exactly what this means) AVCHD transcoding...etc etc, lol

I just want to to download the files to the computer and edit... but I think it's not that simple?

Help a newbie here...
thanks!!!

JB_frenchy
10-05-2009, 02:46 AM
Hello,
Connect the gh1 to you mac with usb, allow "connect with PC" on the gh1,
in FCP, go to file, log and transfer, select the clips you want to transcode (you have to transcode with FCP), select add to queue, wait for the transcode, and voila.
You just need to work with a external hard drive with lot of space, because the files from the gh1 will be transcoded into apple prores whic mean big files.
I don't know about the pulldown workflow since i use a PAL model.

Ivan Lee
10-05-2009, 10:27 AM
thanks! my GH1 is the NTSC version I think (I bought from BH)
And my Final Cut version is the 6.0.4

Martti Ekstrand
10-05-2009, 12:15 PM
You need 6.0.5 or later for AVCHD Log & Transfer.

Ivan Lee
10-05-2009, 02:07 PM
You need 6.0.5 or later for AVCHD Log & Transfer.

:embarasse
I think I can't update my FCP, and it's very expensive to buy... maybe I have to look for Vegas for my PC?

thanks!

DChang
10-05-2009, 02:28 PM