PDA

View Full Version : Mac specs for HD?



C Walker
09-04-2009, 12:21 PM
I'm planning on some HD goods be years' end, but what internals should I have at a minimum? I know the processors will be fine, but what about RAM? 4GB, 8GB, 10, 12? Graphics card OK? ANything else I need to know? Capture card?

Currently:
Mac Pro
2x2.8GHz Quad-core Xeon
2 GB 800MHz DDR2
NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT

i'm either getting an HPX-170 or HMC-150.

:dankk2:

RyanBellaCine
09-04-2009, 12:26 PM
Looks like your system will be fine with the RAM exception.

Go for as much as you can afford. But I'd say a minimum of 12GB RAM.

As far as I know that graphics card should be good. Unless you want to splurge on a ATI 4870. But I don't think it's needed.

C Walker
09-04-2009, 01:05 PM
awesome. thanks!

Where can a guy get some RAM? Newegg?

Justin Kuhn
09-04-2009, 03:30 PM
http://www.transintl.com/ Best place I've found.

NoahK
09-04-2009, 04:59 PM
For AVCHD or DVCPROHD work I'd say 12GB is way overkill. I've worked with 4 GB or even 3 for years in those formats and been fine. But then again if you can afford it, get more RAM- at least up to 4 or 6 and then spend the rest on fast hard drive space. Never have too much of that.

Noah

medeamajic
09-04-2009, 07:52 PM
What about a Decklink card and an HD monitor?

C Walker
09-04-2009, 07:53 PM
Thanks Noah!

C Walker
09-04-2009, 07:54 PM
What about a Decklink card and an HD monitor?
what about them? I'm all ears....I want to maximize this system as much as i can afford.

NoahK
09-05-2009, 05:10 AM
Yeah those would be good too- especially for high-end color correction properly. What you see on the desktop is not what you're really getting back on a broadcast monitor.

Noah

adkimery
09-06-2009, 09:25 AM
The 8800GT is a bit gimpy w/the ProApps compared to Apple's ATi offerings. Even the lower-spec'ed ATi x1900xt out performs the 800GT when it comes to Color and Motion.


-A

C Walker
09-10-2009, 05:36 AM
Yeah those would be good too- especially for high-end color correction properly. What you see on the desktop is not what you're really getting back on a broadcast monitor.

Noah
any suggestions in this area? should i be looking at something like a Matrox as well?

Okay, after researching this, i'm more confused. Matrox or Blackmagic? What to use as a preview monitor? ugh...

C Walker
09-25-2009, 01:25 PM
so i bought 4gb more ram. should be here next week. is it just plug and play?

RightMind
09-25-2009, 02:31 PM
Go to macsales.com. They have a video on upgrading ram and some interesting test results on the best amounts and where to put them.

C Walker
09-25-2009, 04:15 PM
Go to macsales.com. They have a video on upgrading ram and some interesting test results on the best amounts and where to put them.

nice. thanks!