PDA

View Full Version : anyone tried removing rolling shutter on GH1 with software ?



nickybee
09-03-2009, 06:41 PM
I just saw this (the youtube vid is about a month old)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zt0u9hsPuZY

and it talks about rolling shutter removal in software (after effects/shake).
Although the video only numerically refers to the 5dmk2 and the RedOne (with a correction index of 0.56 and 0.32 respectively)....and no before anybody asks I have no idea what those numbers mean...

I'm curious if somebody has tried this software...and therefore if anyone has established

(a) what the delay of the GH1 is in comparison (i.e. what correction is needed to fix the rolling shutter artefacts
(b) does it work well...

thassit...

Nick

Martti Ekstrand
09-03-2009, 11:36 PM
Stu Maschwitz has tested The Foundry's rolling shutter fixer

http://prolost.com/blog/2009/8/6/the-foundry-un-rolls-your-shutter.html


"The Foundry knows that they’ve made a tool to help us limp along while camera manufacturers sort out this CMOS issue. Like any crutch, I wouldn’t plan on leaning too hard on it"

coffeeten
03-15-2010, 03:07 PM
Here is my fix: http://www.vimeo.com/10130633

Ian-T
03-15-2010, 03:24 PM
There's also New Blue FX that fixes rolling shutter and does a whole host of other things.

http://www.newbluefx.com/