PDA

View Full Version : Time 2 envy.com / Broadway Photo SCAM



Doom Egg
08-27-2009, 10:27 AM
I am extremely pissed. :furious3: I broke down and bought a GH1 from time2envy earlier this month. I thought they were the only ones to have gotten the US GH1. Sadly, when I received it I saw on the box that it was PAL, when I accessed the "film mode" it said AVCHD/25p, it came with an additional European plug, and the instructions had certain words spelled differently like "programme" and "colour". Dead giveaway that its the UK version. IN ADDITION TO THAT - they forgot to include the card reader, they upgraded me to glass filters, but they were too small, the wide angle lens they included was too small, and the additional "longer life" battery that I bought didn't work in the camera. After I sent it back to them, they said I had to pay a 15% restocking fee ($300!) because I didn't include a piece of cardboard that held the GH-1 in the box. I told them to screw off, and disputed the charge on my Credit Card. They then had the BALLS to return the package to me, saying it was damaged and that I COULDN'T RETURN IT!!!!!

I did a bit of digging and found out that their alias is Broadway Photo! Other stories about them here:

http://cityroom.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/06/25/online-electronic-stores-caught-in-consumer-fraud/

Addresses and info about them here:

http://consumerist.com/230560/broadway-photos-sheisty+looking-business-addresses

I am going to build a case against these SOB's and personally F them in the A

EXAMPLE:
time2envy.com ---> :violent5: <----Doom Egg

simonclivehughes
08-27-2009, 10:35 AM
Caveat emptor

www.resellerratings.com

Cheers,

BhambuNath
08-27-2009, 11:19 AM
I am extremely pissed. :furious3: I broke down and bought a GH1 from time2envy earlier this month. I thought they were the only ones to have gotten the US GH1. Sadly, when I received it I saw on the box that it was PAL, when I accessed the "film mode" it said AVCHD/25p, it came with an additional European plug, and the instructions had certain words spelled differently like "programme" and "colour". Dead giveaway that its the UK version. IN ADDITION TO THAT - they forgot to include the card reader, they upgraded me to glass filters, but they were too small, the wide angle lens they included was too small, and the additional "longer life" battery that I bought didn't work in the camera. After I sent it back to them, they said I had to pay a 15% restocking fee ($300!) because I didn't include a piece of cardboard that held the GH-1 in the box. I told them to screw off, and disputed the charge on my Credit Card. They then had the BALLS to return the package to me, saying it was damaged and that I COULDN'T RETURN IT!!!!!

I did a bit of digging and found out that their alias is Broadway Photo! Other stories about them here:

http://cityroom.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/06/25/online-electronic-stores-caught-in-consumer-fraud/

Addresses and info about them here:

http://consumerist.com/230560/broadway-photos-sheisty+looking-business-addresses

I am going to build a case against these SOB's and personally F them in the A

EXAMPLE:
time2envy.com ---> :violent5: <----Doom Egg


Exactly - you should F them in the A, they deserve it.

Today I was too close to F a driver on the road in the A, but then I thought I should just leave it as a warning...

Ben_B
08-27-2009, 11:29 AM
Send it back, dispute all charges, get the credit card company to take away the money, and then cancel your credit card. If they send it back again then free Gh1.

I hope you have a good relationship with the credit card company, they should want to help you out.

That said, you probably should have asked around about this site or done some more research before you clicked buy.

In any case, people seem to be getting their GH1s from Panny direct pretty fast at this point.

ryan brown
08-27-2009, 11:33 AM
Send it back, dispute all charges, get the credit card company to take away the money, and then cancel your credit card. If they send it back again then free Gh1.

I hope you have a good relationship with the credit card company, they should want to help you out.

That said, you probably should have asked around about this site or done some more research before you clicked buy.

In any case, people seem to be getting their GH1s from Panny direct pretty fast at this point.

Bingo. And... Bingo.:thumbup:

anthonybsd
08-27-2009, 01:08 PM
I know these guys. They are actually a few subway stops from where I live, so one time when I needed somehting I went to their warehouse to buy stuff. It's a pretty shady operation. They were visibly nervous when I came around - not used to visitors. They are all a family run business, by what looked like hassidic jews - almost like an evil twin of B&H Photo Video. They've been known to have run an upsale scam on people for at least a decade. Sorry to hear that they claimed you as the latest victim.

Ben_B
08-27-2009, 03:12 PM
Evil twin of B&H...nice.

PhilD
08-27-2009, 04:22 PM
and the additional "longer life" battery that I bought didn't work in the camera.

There's no such thing as a longer life battery.

DMW-BLB13 or nothing.

Send a fake GH1 back, like P-p-powerbook (http://www.zug.com/pranks/powerbook/)





Sent to a nigerian scammer:

http://www.zug.com/pranks/powerbook/title02.jpg

John Caballero
08-27-2009, 04:28 PM
and the instructions had certain words spelled differently like "programme" and "colour"

Yeah, those brits should learn how to spell english correctly! LOL!


BTW: Welcome to the Brooklyn Camera District. It is amazingly shady. It is "shocking" because the people behind it are supposed to be so "honest" and "spiritual".

nyczSZx
09-03-2009, 12:02 AM
For anyone desperate for a GH1 and is searching on ebay.... ****DO NOT****BUY****FROM**THIS****SELLER******


http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-Panasonic-DMC-GH1-14-140-Lens-16GB-KIT-DMCGH1-NEW_W0QQitemZ300343701811QQcmdZViewItemQQptZDigita l_Cameras?hash=item45ede13133&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14

time2envy.


Sorry to hear what happened to you man..

Ben_B
09-03-2009, 12:09 AM
If anyone ordered from the Ebay page and ended up with a PAL camera but whose credit card companies won't except disputes unless it was false advertising, there is, in writing, on the ebay page, at least, 720p/60, etc...which indicates the camera is NTSC, even though it is, of course, not.

So if it says that on their page anywhere on the normal page people have a case when disputing charges, etc.

Ben_B
09-03-2009, 12:11 AM
Item reported to ebay. There is a category if you didn't bid. Everyone report. we can at least get this dicks off ebay.