PDA

View Full Version : Absolute best AVCHD transcoder + workflow?

Canadafirst
08-27-2009, 01:41 AM
What is the Absolute best AVCHD transcoder + workflow?

For PC.

OK, I'm a relative noob.

Objective: Absolute best output (.mov/PhotoJPEG)

Problem: AVCHD transcoder quality

Software: CS4, VoltaicHD, Cyberlink Power Producer 7

Question: In terms of ouput quality, what is the best way to go with AVCHD. VoltaicHD seems to have quality issues. CS4 is slow, and Cyberlink PP seems to have limited output options.

I want to transcode into .mov with the Absolute best quality available.

Plaese help.

Option B: Just shoot MJPEG on the GH1. Any opinions on the quality of it?

Thanks,

Barry_Green
08-27-2009, 09:04 AM
If you're on Windows, why do you want to go to a .mov?

I think the best transcoder for quality is probably the Canopus HQ transcoder, if you're an EDIUS user -- but it doesn't provide for 24p pulldown removal, last I checked.

Cineform NeoScene does, and it also fixes the chroma during the process, so in general it might be the best.

With either of those, file sizes are huge.

MJPEG on the GH1 is okay, nothing really to write home about, and it's limited to 720/30p.

Cranky
08-27-2009, 09:25 AM
I want to transcode into .mov with the Absolute best quality available.
What for?

tony240sx
08-27-2009, 10:42 AM
I don't have this cam yet, but hopefully this week the order is going down. I am just wondering if the workflow is the same as the hmc150's avchd footage. I log and transfer to prores in FCP 6 and the footage looks amazing. I'm assuming it's the same process for the gh1 108024p footage, but just want to make sure.

TrueIndigo
08-27-2009, 11:35 AM