PDA

View Full Version : slow motion for hmc footage



vocare
08-23-2009, 04:03 AM
how many percentage can you actually slow motion on hmc footage without
causing too much artifact . Try to de interlace, but still see some artifact .
Are there any filter to apply to get rid of the artifact

studio1972
08-23-2009, 04:48 AM
If you shoot in 50/60p then you can make great slow motion.

Barry_Green
08-23-2009, 09:56 PM
Don't try to "slow it down". Shoot 720/60p, and drop it on the timeline at 40% speed, it'll be frame-accurate perfect slow motion.

cristiansoares
08-29-2009, 05:57 AM
I usualy record in 720p 60f for slow mo, log and transfer to FCP and insert that video in a new timeline (press command+0 to change) at 720p 24f. There in my experience I can achieve great slow-mo if I don't slow down more than 40%. I think its something like 2.5 time slower (60 / 24 - 2.5 so for 10 sec of footage at 720p60f you can stretch it to 25 sec slo mo on a 24f time-line without any loss.... Makes sense? Anyone agrees?) I'm not very good at math but hope this helps.

Example: http://www.vimeo.com/4111661

Jim H
09-03-2009, 02:36 AM
In my experience, if you're shooting 60P and putting it on a 24P timeline, it's pretty watchable down to about 25% play speed. Much slower than that and it looks too choppy.

Danny1280
09-03-2009, 08:25 PM
I'm having trouble transcoding in imovie from HMC150. Everything with lower than 60 fps ends up being double speed as a quicktime file or in FCP. The 60p clips are the correct speed. Do I have to transcode the 60p and 30p and 24p separately with different settings?
Thanks much.
-Dan