PDA

View Full Version : which PC is fast enough to edit HD video?

matt9b
08-17-2009, 11:16 AM
Hi all,

My computer isn't hacking HD video editing, does anyone know what upgrade should fix it?

My specs:
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 (3.0GHz) 1333FSB 6MB L2 Cache
Graphics card: XFX 9400GT 1GB DDR2
4GB RAM
Windows XP
Sony Vegas

Cheers,

Matt

Cassius
08-17-2009, 11:52 AM
How fast is your RAM? What's your hard drive setup? Hard drives are a bottleneck sometimes. That system isn't all that bad. What kind of video are you trying to edit?

PhilD
08-17-2009, 11:53 AM
Get Vista 64 bits and more RAM

I'm not a techie so I can't say if your motherboard could be a part of the problem

yabyum
08-17-2009, 12:23 PM
It's the CPU limiting you. Definitely. I bet you could edit AVCHD in Premiere Pro though, with its GPU usage. Upgrade to an i7 920 if you want the fastest... but I think you'd have to buy a whole new motherboard too, and RAM.

Andrew McCarrick
08-17-2009, 12:26 PM
Could you overclock the processor a little, that may help. If you don't go to far with it, you can do it without additional cooling equip.

(It might not let you overclock though.)

What brand of comp. is it?

Ben_B
08-17-2009, 01:01 PM
I don't really see the problem there...great setup....

I do ProRes and DVC Pro HD editing on my 2.16ghz Macbook with intel GMA and on my old 2ghz core duo iMac....works fine!

Even my old 800mhz iMac can handle DVC Pro HD editing fine if the film stays under like 5 or so minutes.

Ryan McCarvill
08-18-2009, 01:50 PM
I do AVCHD editing on Sony Vegas 9 with a 1.8 ghz core 2 duo and 3 gigs of ram - no problem at all.

- Ryan

Ian Slessor
08-23-2009, 08:32 PM
So...a quad-core with tons of ram should be OK?

Ryan McCarvill
08-24-2009, 03:36 PM
So...a quad-core with tons of ram should be OK?

Yep have a look at your system, mine is pretty lean, just XP, Vegas, DVD Studio, and Audacity. Nothing else hogging resources.

matt9b
08-25-2009, 05:35 AM