PDA

View Full Version : Not a just simple hpx-300 vs hpx-170 post...

evolvnyc
08-13-2009, 10:01 AM
I know, these "which camera?" posts are really old but the significant price drops have me thinking about getting the HPX-300. And my question isn't "which is better?" because I have shot both and love them both. I'm primarily a doc filmmaker who does a lot of "behind the scenes" work for corporate stuff. When doing the paid work, I always shoot handheld. When doing my own work, I'm almost always on a tripod and often use an adapter and Zeiss lenses. Here's my question:

Most people who hire me, hire me with my HVX-200. That's the camera they request (whether they know what it is or not.) I'm losing my HVX because my partner is taking it on a doc assignment in Africa for 3 months, so we needed to invest in a 2nd cam anyway. My question is, can I safely assure people (clients) that they are getting the exact same picture/quality they would with the HVX? Like when I had off the footage to their editor, and I have done the settings right, will it be the same codec or compression, the same look (I know it will be sharper, but I mean that same panny mojo and beautiful filmic/color look in 24p) because I want to have the higher resolution for my own personal stuff and want to make sure I'm still also giving my clients what they want and are used to with the HVX-200 footage.

Also is there anything which will be different in terms of higher cost (beside the batteries) when it comes to shooting the HPX-300 with a 35 adapter (like a letus)? Will I need an extra piece to make it work with this Fuji lens? Thanks so much for your input.

David Saraceno
08-13-2009, 10:36 AM
We thought that identically shot DVCProHD from our 170 did not look as good as the same footage shot from the 300 in AVCIntra100.

But the mojo was definitely there in both.

Barry_Green
08-13-2009, 11:32 AM
As compared to an original HVX200? or an HVX200A?