PDA

View Full Version : GH1+ ProRes Proxy and ProRes (LT)



Ben_B
08-09-2009, 02:43 PM
http://images.apple.com/finalcutstudio/docs/Apple_ProRes_White_Paper_July_2009.pdf

Does anybody know if ProRes proxy and/or ProRes LT will give us full quality transcoded footage since the camera shoots at such a low data rate? I know that when I transcode to AIC compared to ProRes it looks worse, but what about ProRes Proxy or LT? Smaller file sizes, full quality GH1 footage? Any thoughts? Anybody with knowledge on this sort of thing know how ProRes Proxy will compare to AIC on paper? Maybe that will tell us? Is it closer to AIC or ProRes? Lots of good info above but half of it is greek to me...or at least I know what it means but not what it means for me.

ProRes Proxy stores video at only 18 Mb/s....which is higher than GH1 17Mb/s, and is only 8GB/h which is very nice... (@ 720p).

So basically to recap. If I transcode my GH1 footage to Apple ProRes Proxy, am I getting full quality I can get...or to put it very simply:

Will there be any measurable difference in visual quality between GH1 footage transcoded to ProRes Proxy and GH1 footage transcoded to ProRes 422?

Thanks!

kenn michael
08-09-2009, 11:41 PM
Don't transcode to ProRes Proxy. That's only for offline work. LT should be okay though.

Ben_B
08-09-2009, 11:56 PM
Do you think there will be a quality difference between LT and normal ProRes with GH1 footage?

kenn michael
08-09-2009, 11:58 PM
Nope.

Ben_B
08-10-2009, 12:02 AM
"Apple ProRes 422 (LT) also makes it an excellent choice for transcoding complex
camera codecs like AVCHD. "


Ahh there we go!

Ben_B
08-10-2009, 12:07 AM
Man that 46 GB/hr instead of 66 for 720p/60 is gonna be nice! Looks like I have a reason to get final cut studio 3 now...use 30% less storage space with LT!

Jonathan12uiz
10-31-2010, 02:08 PM
I just finished a test of this... b/c imo i thought proxy would be the best option to choose, but after my tests, I will be using LT. you can check out my video on my vimeo...

link...
http://www.vimeo.com/16372321

sorry vimeo wasn't hd
try this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vXAyKvDVTkM

Ben_B
11-02-2010, 12:26 PM
I did a test pre hack and decided to work with LT but post hack I've decided to use ProRes. Depends on the project as well. If it's something simple like filming a lecture with a final output of DVD or the web I might transcode to LT to save space.