PDA

View Full Version : Over/under cranking on Hpx 300



ccastro
07-22-2009, 08:50 AM
Hey guys,

forgive me if this subject has been talked about before and or my ignorance on the subject.

I have never attempted O/U cranking in camera before. I know its supposed to be done in 720p, I however can't seem to get more than 3 settings, I go into the menu, under system mode, select the category and I get an option of, {1080i-59.94i}, {720-59.94i}, or {480-59.94i}, that's' it. I am shooting on the AVC intra 100 codec. I'm wondering as I write this if that is the problem.

The camera has the new firm ware on it, I don't know if something changed since I {DL} the firmware, I never used it prior to the firm ware release, I had no P2 cards until recently. So is the some setting issue or something I'm over looking?

When I try changing the frame rate using the only available setting under the 720 range {720-59.94i} it doesn't affect the speed at all.

Any suggestions?

I'm going to go try changing codecs and see if that changes anything.

Thanks.

MaxThomas
07-22-2009, 09:00 AM
In SYSTEM SETUP:
- Set SYSTEM MODE to 720-59.94P
- Set REC FORMAT to your desired codec & playback framerate (must be 30p or 24p to overcrank)

In SCENE FILE:
- Set VFR to ON
- Set FRAME RATE to your desired recording framerate

suthvid
07-22-2009, 09:04 AM
I have only had the camera a week,, and have done this once. You have to select 720/59.94, then make sure that VFR is on in the menu. I think at that point I turned the file wheel to change speed. The slowest speed 60, played back 24. I'll try it later today and maybe be more precise in my advice! It was a combination of several settings. Of course i suppose we could both consult the manual...

ccastro
07-22-2009, 09:56 AM
Yeah, lol. I've been in the manual, I seen so many settings over the last couple days that I think I'm starting to mix them up. So the answer is that their should only be 3 option in system set up right?

then you pick which record format you want? O if I want to see 1080 p I would go to 1080 i, then select for example avc intra 100 24p. That would give me a 1080 24p clip or look, right?

Cees Mutsaers
07-22-2009, 01:26 PM
I can be wrong but I thought O/U crancking can only be done in 710p.



Yeah, lol. I've been in the manual, I seen so many settings over the last couple days that I think I'm starting to mix them up. So the answer is that their should only be 3 option in system set up right?

then you pick which record format you want? O if I want to see 1080 p I would go to 1080 i, then select for example avc intra 100 24p. That would give me a 1080 24p clip or look, right?

davideo.net
07-22-2009, 03:22 PM
You have to select 720/59.94, then make sure that VFR is on in the menu.

...that is a bit confusing since they are on separate menu pages - the VFR option in in the scene file page...

don't forget that if you set the camera for 30PN, and then set the frame rate to ANY OTHER number other than 30, you will get NO AUDIO... That's an important thing to realize. Over and under cranking will get you a very cool look, but no audio.