PDA

View Full Version : AVCHD Files...What a Headache!

Coco Bermudez
07-14-2009, 10:47 PM
Can someone explain it to me as if I were a 4 year old...or maybe direct me to another posting where this is explained.

This is my first time I work with AVCHD and I am a bit lost. When I shoot with my 16GB on the GH1 I usually do not end up filling the card. I shoot for about 20 minutes or so and then I copy the folder labeled PRIVATE into my hard drive. This way I insure EVERYTHING is in there. Now when I go out the nesx day and shoot, i do not format the card again...I have lots of extra space left from the day before.

Now here comes the tricky part...If i want to make a backup of what I shot, what files do I copy? Do I have to copy the whole folder again? This would contain my new movies plus the one before. is there an easy solution? I know that AVCHD breaks real easy if one file is missing.

Any suggestions?

Ben_B
07-14-2009, 10:50 PM
Whole folder again. You should just be formatting the card! Same with P2 and all other (non AVCHD) digital workflows! If you can go back and delete the clips manually on the camera when you forget to format I believe that works too. Get a second HDD for backup and log and transfer your footage right away to makes sure everything works fine.

J Davis
07-14-2009, 10:50 PM
If you are using FCP you should backup the whole PRIVATE folder structure as FCP needs that. If you use Adobe's media encoder then you only need the .mts files in the STREAM folder which is in the BDMV folder.

Be careful tho as sometimes the data corrupts and you need to go back to the card. I usually don't erase the card till I have everything in prores with pulldown removed

Ozpeter
07-16-2009, 12:16 AM
Whatever you do, ensure you have two copies of the footage at all times - eg, on two hard drives with the card wiped, or on the card and on one hard drive. Never make one copy to the hard drive then wipe the card right away - make the second copy (from the card) first.