PDA

View Full Version : GPU Accelerated editing of AVCHD

divide
07-11-2009, 04:29 AM
Hi all,

I've been following threads about the GH1 for some months now at dvxuser, and noticed some of you had difficulties editing AVCHD at this time (and so did I); so I've been working for several months on a plugin that decode AVCHD (+files from the Canon EOS 5D MKII) realtime in NLEs using NVIDIA graphic cards.
The plugin is now avaible for Sony Vegas and Adobe Premiere:
http://www.divideframe.com

Hope that helps !

greeches
10-02-2009, 08:59 AM
Anyone toyed with this yet? If so, what were your specs, and did you notice much difference?

designbydave
10-02-2009, 11:31 AM
Tried in, made Premiere Pro CS4 crash on loading

Windows 7 x64
Latest version of Premiere

Barry_Green
10-02-2009, 12:15 PM
Why would you use something like this with CS4? CS4 already has GPU acceleration (at least, if you get the 4.1 update it does). Conflicting between Premiere's native acceleration and an aftermarket plug-in's acceleration might be what caused the crash?

bbinnard
10-02-2009, 12:24 PM
at $95 I just can't justify getting it considering my copy of Vegas MSP cost only $85 and works fine.

I'm not meaning to be negative, but as a former independent software developer myself I found specifying a price point was a key issue. My sense was the price has to be set relative to what the product is being used for and/or it's "perceived worth."

The ability to use a GPU during rendering will clearly speed up the rendering process, but it is an incremental increase, not a completely new capability. "Incremental" is the key word there - it tells me the cost of your add-on should be an increment of the cost of the base software. Now I realize Vegas has a wide range of prices (only Sony knows why) and my guess is you are targeting the Pro users. That's fine and clearly your choice, but it sort of leaves us amateurs (non Pro versions of Vegas) out of the picture.