PDA

View Full Version : Free Pulldown Alternatives?



tonydvcoste
07-03-2009, 12:04 PM
I downloaded a trial version of Neo Scene, holy crap what a massive difference! I now realize the importance of removing the pulldown (even though I don't understand anything about it), but I just bought a GH1, laptop, and a H4n and Vegas 9 (as well as panasonic media cards, and etc) so I am not only broke, but in the hole by 100 bucks. I can't afford to buy any software, is there a free alternative for removing pulldown? I'm using Vegas 9 (obviously) and I believe I'm the only one in here who is, but is there anything I can use in conjunction with Vegas to remove the pulldown? Or a standalone program that will do it? Something free or really affordable, thanks all!

//td

PappasArts
07-03-2009, 01:26 PM
I just bought a GH1, laptop, and a H4n and Vegas 9 (as well as panasonic media cards, and etc) so I am not only broke, but in the hole by 100 bucks.




Wait a second here; you just bought a:

1. GH1 DSLR HD camera...

2. Laptop computer...

3. H4n digital audio recorder...

4. Vegas 9 professional editing application...

5. Panasonic media cards...

6. Accessories...

And you now can't spare even ( $34.99 ) for VoltaicHD that will do the
24fps removal or 60 bucks more for neoscene.


Dude gimme a break. I could understand if you were using cheap gear, and all you could get was used and last gen technology. However you got state of the art gear; and now you are being cheap with getting inexpensive software...


Ridiculous!


Michael Pappas
http://www.pbase.com/Arrfilms

Anamorphic DSLR Lens Test Images... links:
http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showpost.php?p=1638289&postcount=97
http://www.dvxuser.com/V6/showpost.php?p=1637705&postcount=84
Facebook & Myspace:
http://www.facebook.com/people/Michael-Pappas/573417404
http://www.Myspace.com/PappasArts
Arrfilms@hotmail.com
http://www.PappasArts.com

tonydvcoste
07-03-2009, 01:52 PM
oh i thought it was more expensive. thanks for the response pompous... i mean pappas

PappasArts
07-03-2009, 01:55 PM
oh i thought it was more expensive. thanks for the response pompous... i mean pappas

Your welcome Neophyte...

Just kidding.........! ;-P

tonydvcoste
07-03-2009, 02:18 PM
just thought i'd try, why buy the cow when you can get the milk for free kind of thing. i bought all the gear before the office i worked at closed it's door and laid everybody off, so now i'm unemployed and as i said, less then broke. i'll go for voltaicHD when i land another job but i'm in the maritimes of canada, finding a job was hard before, now it's next to impossible. one of the reasons this site exists is so people who don't know the answers can ask people who do questions.

PappasArts
07-03-2009, 02:28 PM
just thought i'd try, why buy the cow when you can get the milk for free kind of thing. .

Well up to this point, it's obvious someone wiser has never told you: That only applies to chicks! ;-D


.

PerroneFord
07-03-2009, 03:03 PM
Free (and excellent)

http://www.virtualdub.org/features.html

noirist
07-04-2009, 06:45 AM
Free (and excellent)

http://www.virtualdub.org/features.html

How can you use VirtualDub to convert AVCHD in 60i to 24p? Thanks -

PerroneFord
07-04-2009, 07:29 AM
You can't do it in the native format. Sorry, didn't realize that was a requirement.

Ian-T
07-04-2009, 07:53 AM
Hey Perrone, do you mean we can use Virtual Dub to remove pulldown and transcode the footage to an intermediate format?

I've been using Virtual Dub forever and never thought about this. I've been so used to it being unable to remove my HV20's pulldown (properly) that I never figured that it should work on the GH-1.

PerroneFord
07-04-2009, 09:27 AM
Virtualdub works on AVI files. You may be able to frameserve into it or Avisynth, but I know less than zero about that stuff. I convert my sources into .avi files if I am going to work with them in virtualdub.

Then I use virtualdub to do pulldown if necessary, resizing if necessary, colorspace changes, sharpening, etc. Basically, I do as much footage prep there as I can. I wish it had timecode burn so I could make my proxies from there as well. Metafuze hasn't worked out for me for that purpose.

Kevin I
07-04-2009, 05:33 PM
I used Avisynth (as the video processor to remove pulldown) and VirtualDub Mod (to accept the Avisynth script and output to AVI) to remove pulldown on some clips from my GH1 and I think it did a proper job... but I haven't tested it thoroughly. Anyone wanting to use this should check the output for any problems before using it seriously.

In a nutshell:

1. Set up an Avisynth script to remove pulldown. I used this script which was posted elsewhere on the forum:

DirectShowSource("[path to your source MTS file]", fps=29.97)
Telecide(guide=1,post=2)
Decimate()

2. Open this .avs file in Vdub

3. Set the output file compression type to whatever you want to use under Video -> Compression

4. Select File -> Save as AVI and set the output file name.

321 rollem
07-05-2009, 06:50 PM
Can someone explain what a pulldown is?

PerroneFord
07-05-2009, 07:19 PM
Can someone explain what a pulldown is?

http://www.zerocut.com/tech/pulldown.html

321 rollem
07-05-2009, 07:22 PM
http://www.zerocut.com/tech/pulldown.html
ty :)